Bring me warmth

I hate winter. I have really poor circulation, so when I get cold it takes forever to warm up. My toes are still freezing….after 2 hours of sitting under a blanket while grading papers and drinking hot tea. So I’ve been combating the weather with lots of warm foods.

Thanks to Jenn for hosting another What I ate Wednesday!

I’m bringing you Sunday’s meals, because decorating the Christmas tree is involved. Coming home to a lit tree is the only thing that makes winter enjoyable…too bad Christmas is only 4 days in to winter and I have to suffer through another 3 months of  bleakness.

Brunch

consumed around 11…yeah, pumpkin steel cut oats just don’t get old

Snack

Trader Joe’s Mediterranean Flat Bread (x2), roasted garlic hummus, apple, as well as some unphotographed almonds and raisins

Christmas tree decorating fuel

hot chocolate with a chocolate peppermint stick stirrer

Dinner

Key Lime spiked seltzer, salad and coconut lime chickpeas over brown rice – this earned the (vegan!) stamp of approval from the hubs!

This was supposed to be something pinteresting. I pinned this coconut lime chicken and chile recipe

via pinned HERE

 a while back and was excited to try it. However, after defrosting my chicken I discovered it had gone bad! Chickpeas to the rescue! As well as a host of other changes, of course. I just can’t help myself.

Coconut Lime Chickpeas

Adapted from this recipe

Ingredients

1 can chickpeas (garbanzo beans), rinsed and drained

2 tsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil

4 cloves garlic, minced

1 tsp curry powder

1 tsp turmeric

1 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp oregano

1 14 oz can light  coconut milk

1 4 oz. can diced green chiles

2 TBS lime juice

1/2 cup sweet (or yellow) onion, chopped

3 tsp frozen cilantro cubes (can sub 3 TBS fresh cilantro)

Directions

Heat oil over medium in a large skillet. Add garlic and chickpeas. Stir to prevent burning of the garlic, and cook 5 minutes. Add curry, turmeric, cumin and oregano, stirring to combine. Cook 1 minute. Add coconut milk, green chiles, lime juice, onion and cilantro. Reduce heat to medium-low and simmer for 15 minutes, stirring occasionally. Serve over brown rice.

This was so delicious. I was a very happy camper to be eating leftovers for Monday’s lunch. Link up your pinteresting recreations over at All Things Lovely!

Have you had an epic chicken (or other meat) failure? How did you fix the situation?