Chicken Sausage, Egg & Cheese Breakfast Burritos [for the freezer!]

This morning I ran to Safeway and scored a great deal – 50% off organic eggs! I paid $3.98 for two dozen organic eggs. Insane. That’s cheaper than just one of my favorite breakfast sandwiches at Starbucks.

Even though I’m still exhausted from my big freezer meal prep, I knew I needed to whip these bad boys up into some back to school breakfasts. I made 8 breakfast sandwich middles with 8 of the eggs (recipe soon), and 8 breakfast burritos with another 8 eggs. I still have 8 left to whip into something else fun. Maybe French toast sticks, or egg muffins, or a fritatta…the possibilities are endless.

chicken sausage egg & cheese breakfast burritos

Ingredients

8 eggs

3/4 cup milk

1/3 cup diced onion

1/4 tsp salt

dash fresh ground pepper

3/4 cup shredded cheese of your choice

1 pound chicken breakfast sausage

8 tortillas, preferably Tortillaland (you can find these amazing tortillas at Costco)

Directions

Screen Shot 2013-08-27 at 3.17.42 PM

Preheat oven to 350. In a medium size bowl mix eggs, milk, onion, salt & pepper. Pour in an greased 8×8 baking dish and bake for 15 minutes. Add shredded cheese to egg mixture and stir well. Bake 5 minutes, stir again, bake 5 more minutes.

Meanwhile, in a large pan, brown the chicken sausage. Once eggs and sausage are done, mix together in a large bowl. Spoon evenly between 8 tortillas and wrap burrito style, folding in the ends as you go. Flash freeze on a cookie sheet & store in a gallon freezer bag. You can also wrap them in parchment paper, followed by a piece of aluminum foil for easy portability.

To heat, microwave on high for 1 minute 30 seconds.

Enjoy!

And don’t forget I’m pairing up with Jenn at The Wannabe Housewife for a $100 cash giveaway! Enter through the rafflecopter below 🙂

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

What is your favorite breakfast burrito mixture?

3 thoughts on “Chicken Sausage, Egg & Cheese Breakfast Burritos [for the freezer!]

  1. I’ve had the ingredients to make mine for awhile but this post pushed me over the top and I just finished mine for the freezer! I like the egg/potato/bacon combo, but I’m particular about the potatoes; they either have to be precrisped tater tots or crispy homemade breakfast potatoes.

  2. Pingback: Meal Plan Monday: Sept. 2-8 | Spinach and Skittles

Leave a Reply

