Quick and Easy [#lactation] Breakfast Cookies

Screen shot 2013-07-31 at 10.00.27 AM

I’m on summer break for a few more weeks, and while that used to mean I could sleep in and recipe test as I pleased, it now means wake-up on G’s schedule and stumble to the kitchen for coffee STAT. Bonus points if I already have breakfast ready.

During the school year I perfected the no-added sugar lactation breakfast cookie to eat while I pumped before work. I still make these each time I have browning bananas, and omit the chocolate chips forΒ  Genevieve’s half of the batch. I love them, she loves them, and Rilo doesn’t mind vacuuming up the pieces that fall on the floor.

[Lactation] Breakfast Cookies

Screen shot 2013-07-31 at 9.57.46 AM

Ingredients vary – you can make these no matter how many browned bananas you have.

1/2 cup quick cook oatmeal per 1 banana –Β  I usually wait until I have 5 bananas, and 2.5 cups oats.

1/4 tsp cinnamon per banana

1/4 tsp vanilla per banana

1/2 tsp chia seeds per banana (not required)

1/2 tsp flax seed per banana (not required)

1 tsp brewers yeast per banana (omit if you don’t want lactation cookies)

1 TBS chocolate chips per banana (omit for baby cookies)

Directions

Screen shot 2013-07-31 at 9.58.40 AM

Preheat oven to 350. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.

Mash bananas and add all other ingredients. Mix well.

Scoop mixture with 1/3 cup measuring cup and flatten into a cookie shape. Bake for 18 minutes. Once cooled a bit, cut parchment paper and stack on a container. Store in fridge for up to 1 week.

Enjoy!

What is your favorite way to use browning bananas?

15 thoughts on “Quick and Easy [#lactation] Breakfast Cookies

  1. Yum! Thanks for sharing your recipe, I think my kids would love these! It’s hard to get them to eat a good breakfast during the school year, and they would work as a snack too.

  2. Pingback: #MunchkinMeals Here we go! |

    • Ugh I know! I have a class on the 12th, open house the 29th, and school starts September 2nd. Too soon!! What about you? I started stocking my freezer with pre-made taco meat and lunch burritos. I’m picking my next go round of freezer meals too.

  3. Pingback: Zucchini cilantro lime rice | Spinach and Skittles

  4. Pingback: Zucchini breakfast cookies | Spinach and Skittles

  5. Your little girl has beautiful eyes!

    I am starting a new job this week and the start time is much earlier than I am used to. This will be perfect to grab and eat in the car with my coffee! I have some toasted wheat germ I need to use up, I think I’ll try throwing some of that in.

  6. Thanks for sharing! I’m making them now in anticipation of starting back to work on Monday after maternity leave. 😦 have you tried freezing them?

Leave a Reply

