Chipotle White Bean Tuna Melts

Hey look at this, I’m actually posting a recipe. First time in over two months, woops.

The end of the school year was frantic, as I packed up my classroom to move to a temporary building for 18 months,

Screen shot 2013-07-15 at 2.00.00 PM

Screen shot 2013-07-15 at 2.02.16 PM

ran my first post-baby race,

Screen shot 2013-07-15 at 2.00.20 PM

and G decided she was no longer a 3 naps a day baby and settled on one 45-minute chunk instead. And she thought 5:45 a.m. was a swell wake up time. #passthewine

Screen shot 2013-07-15 at 2.01.10 PM

But after a weekend trip, and grandparents visiting, we tackled sleep training for a second time and #knockonwood it’s worked. We’ve had a week solid of only 1 wake up per night, and a 2-3 hour nap during the day. Hallelujah!

All this free time has resulted in a somewhat cleaner house, and the ability to be creative in the kitchen. Last week I made  this roasted corn pasta salad, and wound up with some leftover pureed chipotle peppers. Rather than freezing it, and then losing it in the freezer, I decided to incorporate it into my meal plan for the week. Last night I whipped up some rather tasty, and super easy, tuna melts.

Chipotle White Bean Tuna Melts

chipotle tuna melt

Serves 2

Ingredients

1 can albacore tuna, drained

1/2 cup white beans, mashed

1/2 bunch cilantro, chopped

2 TBS mayonaise

1 shallot, minced

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 TBS lemon juice

1/2 tsp smoked paprika

1/2 tsp cumin

1/4 tsp salt

2 tsp chipotle in adobo sauce puree

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

1/2 cup cheddar cheese, shredded

1 tomato, sliced

1/2 avocado, sliced

1 ciabatta bun, sliced in half

Directions

Pre-heat oven to 350, with sliced ciabatta bun inside to toast slightly.

In a large bowl, mash white beans. Add tuna (flake with a fork), cilantro, mayo, garlic, shallot, lemon juice, paprika, cumin, salt, and chipotle puree. Blend well.

Top each half of ciabatta with half the white bean/tuna mixture. Bake for 10 minutes. Add sliced tomatoes and cheese, bake another 5-10 minutes (depending on how melty you like your cheese). Serve with sliced avocado.

Enjoy! I am hoping to post at least one recipe, one munchkin meal post, and one life post per week. Maybe I’ll get back to every day posting…but I doubt it!

Screen shot 2013-07-15 at 2.01.44 PMScreen shot 2013-07-15 at 2.00.57 PM

2 thoughts on “Chipotle White Bean Tuna Melts

  1. I still haven’t ran a race post-baby, I thought i’d have all sorts of time this summer but moving classrooms & grades has proven me wrong! …. I totally know how hard it is to find a minute to go to the bathroom- let alone get a post up on the blog— thankful for Instagram & Facebook to keep up with you and the adorable G!
    I thought we had a handle on this whole sleep thing (teething may have changed things?!) but now we are getting maybe a 30 min nap 2 times a day and I can’t get him to fall asleep without nursing and/or rocking to sleep! I just had an hour and a half scream fest over here while I was trying to get him to sleep on his own….. How did you sleep train? What is working for you? I love how it leaves me feeling like the worst momma in the world! …..fingers crossed, he’ll sleep semi-okay tonight after wearing himself out screaming!

    • By run I really meant participated in a 5K, lol. I walked it with some friends. We jogged a little bit and then gave up 😉

      Ugh I hear you on the sleep drama. As soon as we’ve gotten into a good routine teething, or traveling, or visitors screws it up! I followed the plan Caitlin (HTP) and Kath did. It seems to work well until we travel. Then she’s too on edge and won’t sleep. Then she winds up back in bed with us and I wind up being kicked and punched in the face all night!

Leave a Reply

