Chorizo Sweet Potato Breakfast Burritos

I don’t have the time I used to now that I’m a momma. But my taste buds haven’t changed their tune, and still require delicious meals on a daily basis. I used to spend a good chunk of Sunday afternoons bulk cooking breakfasts and lunches for the work week, but I never fully appreciated the beauty of a fridge full of prepared food until now. I love grab and go foods. And I love homemade #realfood grab and go meals even more.

About a month ago my co-worker walked into my classroom, eating a breakfast burrito, and told me she had my next recipe idea: chorizo sweet potato breakfast burritos. Yes please! That weekend I bought the necessary supplies and got to work. I’ve taste tested a few variations, and I think I have a blogworthy creation now.

The key to these breakfast burritos is good quality tortillas. My favorite brand is Tortillaland. Yes, you have to cook them yourself, which can add time to your prep, but I make mine a day ahead when I’m already making tortillas for dinner. Then I wrap them up, burrito style, in foil and place them in a freezer bag on the counter. They will keep 1 day like this, and won’t dry out.

photo(10)

Serves: 9

Ingredients:

9 tortillas, preferably Tortillaland

1 tube chorizo, or soyrizo for vegetarian

1 small sweet potato, peeled and diced

2 tsp olive oil

3 TBS butter

8 eggs

3/4 cup milk, or unsweetened soy/almond milk for dairy free

3/4 tsp salt

1/2 tsp cumin

1/4 tsp garlic powder

1/3 cup shredded cheddar

add ins: chives, onions, fresh garlic, bell pepper, etc.

Directions:

Pre-heat oven to 350. In an 8×8 glass pan melt butter in the microwave (about 30 seconds). Coat pan well with melted butter.

photo(9)

In a medium bowl mix eggs, milk, salt, cumin, and garlic powder. At this point you can add any veggie mix ins you like. My favorite is 1/4 cup chives. Pour into glass pan and bake 10 minutes. Stir with a fork and bake 15 more minutes. Stir every 5 minutes to break up and scramble.

Meanwhile, heat a pan with olive oil over medium heat. Pan fry diced sweet potato, approximately 10 minutes.

In another pan, heat chorizo, or soyrizo, over medium heat for at least 10 minutes. Regular chorizo is forgiving, and can be cooked longer. Soyrizo is not! It will get very dry if you cook it longer than 12 minutes.

photo(11)

When eggs and sweet potato are finished, add both the the chorizo/soyrizo pan, add cheese, and mix well. Spoon in even amounts into 9 tortillas. Wrap burritos in parchment paper, followed by foil, for storing. These will keep about 1 week in your fridge, or up to 6 months in the freezer.

To re-heat: remove foil, leave wrapped in parchment paper

  • from fridge, cook 45 seconds on high in the microwave
  • from frozen, cook 1 minute 30 seconds on high in the microwave

photo(12)

4 thoughts on “Chorizo Sweet Potato Breakfast Burritos

  1. YUM! I love(d) chorizo, and I keep meaning to try the veggie version they sell at Trader Joe’s. Maybe this would be a good excuse?

    Those tortillas sound wonderful. When I was in Mexico I was able to learn how to make authentic flour tortillas, and they really are unlike anything you can buy in a store. However, I have a weakness for those super thin stretchy kind they have at burrito restaurants that I’ve NEVER seen on a store shelf…

  2. Pingback: Sunday Food Prep Inspiration 12

Leave a Reply

