Creamy Avocado Lemon Dressing

Oh hey blog world, I haven’t seen you in quite a while. Ever since I went back to work I’ve had no time to eat a real lunch, read for pleasure, or blog. My work/life balance is redonkulous, and I’ve learned there is no such thing as half-time when it comes to teaching. While I’m only paid to be in the building from 8:30 until noon, I’m usually there by 7:45, leave at 12:30, and plan/grade during afternoon naps and almost all weekend every weekend. Even though I’m only responsible for 3 subjects, I still feel like I’m working full time, and it’s been exhausting!

IMG_9979

To keep my energy levels up I’ve been focusing on real foods as much as possible. I’ve been batch cooking freezer lunches/dinners, and whipping up some mean breakfast burritos for the fridge. My latest creation is just as much a dip as it is a dressing. We enjoyed it atop a bed of mixed greens, bell pepper, tomato, green onion & steak the other night, and I can see it becoming a staple in our house. If the ingredient list didn’t include honey I would have given a taste to Genevieve too!

Creamy Avocado Lemon Dressing

Screen shot 2013-03-20 at 6.48.04 AM

Ingredients

1 ripe avocado

3 TBS goat cheese (can sub feta)

2 TBS canola oil

1 tsp honey

1/4 tsp sea salt

1 clove garlic

small handful cilantro

1/4 cup lemon juice

Directions

Screen shot 2013-03-20 at 6.47.51 AM

Throw all ingredients into a blender (I used a Magic Bullet), and blend until smooth. This is a very thick dressing, and definitely requires tossing the salad because it will not pour over the salad easily. You can thin it out by adding water or more canola oil if you please. Eating it right off the spatula is also an option.

4 thoughts on “Creamy Avocado Lemon Dressing

  1. Hi old friend! [Not “old” as in “aged” but “old” as in “long lost” of course. ;)] Your baby is adorable, and obviously much more important than blog land. Besides, there is always IG..which is where I saw this dressing! It looks like a pumped up version of one I make with orange juice…and eat with a spoon, drizzled–OK glopped and FLOODED–over anything and everything in sight.

    Yum!

  2. I tried to get the little man to eat avocado…… it didn’t go over so hot. (the video is stinkin’ hilarious! I showed it to my 4th graders because they rocked a test as a treat- even the too cool boys thought it was funny! )
    This sounds REALLY good! I’m game for real food like this!

Leave a Reply

