New mom must haves: first 3 months

I LOVE these posts from other bloggers, so it’s high time I collected my thoughts and shared them with y’all. But, of course, take this list with a grain of salt. All babies are different, and what works for me and G might not necessarily work for you. And, what used to work for us doesn’t necessarily work any longer. Babies sure know how to keep you on your toes.

Nursing & you:

  • A travel neck pillow is AMAZING for night time nursing. I may have fallen asleep while nursing a few times in the early weeks, and it saved my neck, haha.
  • A hug lamp (from Costco) – they go around your neck and have 3 strengths of light. They are meant for reading, but it’s nice to not have to turn on a big light and wake the hubs.
  • a chilled eye mask cut in half worked much better for me than those soothie pads for the first week or so of breast feeding. The soothies just didn’t stay chilled long enough.
  • Food! I was starving the first 3ish weeks. I literally could not eat enough food. Each night before bed I’d cut up an apple, put it in a baggie, make a pb&j, put in a baggie, and make some almond butter stuffed dates – then I had a schmorgusboard of snacks for night time nursing ready and available. I’ve fallen out of the habit as I’m dream feeding now (grabbing G when she first stirs and nursing her – she falls back asleep while nursing, and I either also fall asleep while nursing or quickly after. I did it by accident once and felt so much better the next day that I’ve been doing it ever since)

for baby:

  • gas drops are wonderful! G had massive issues with digestion and gas for about 8 weeks, and still sometimes has issues. I had to give her the drops before nursing so it would work itself into her system while she nursed. Now I use them whenever she seems to be in pain – the problem is resolved within minutes
  • CJ’s butter (for diaper rash) comes in a tube so you don’t have to get your fingers all gunky when applying it – great for the diaper bag! It also smells great, I have the monkey farts one, which is kind of like bananas. It is also cloth diaper safe.

Genevieve watching tv 19 days

  • the boppy lounger was my lifesaver. Since G barely napped, it is the only way I can get a shower on most days. She likes the sound of the shower, and the blow dryer. So I can actually get ready, on days I need to…haha, which are few and far between 🙂

photo(5)

  • My second lifesaver is the Fisher-Price Rock n’play Sleeper. I cart this thing all over my house. Now that G is too big to really use the lounger I use the sleeper for containment when I’m cooking dinner, exercising, taking ornaments off my tree, showering, etc. She loves it because it holds her close, keeps her at an angle, and is high enough so she can see me.

IMG_0558

  • I love G’s pacigrip…I haven’t lost a paci yet. The BooginHead one is great because it has a small cord to hold the paci. I bought a munchkin one too, but it’s loop to hold the paci is way too thick to hold the soothies paci G likes.
  • white noise! If you have a smart phone the white noise app is amazing. I had the free version, but I couldn’t have anything else open, so I downloaded the $1.99 version. Best $1.99 I ever spent! G can be screaming and I turn it on and she immediately stops and looks toward the sound. If it fails I stand under the bathroom fan. And that NEVER fails. It is so crazy. I also have two sleep sheeps – one for her crib, and a travel one. The travel one usually hangs out on her car seat.
  • Also for a smart phone – the baby connect app. I use it for breastfeeding – knowing how long it’s been between feedings and which side she ate on is really handy. I can also email info to her pediatrician if needed. You can track all sorts of things – diapers, mood, vaccinations, etc.
  • A few different swaddle blankets. When G was really little we liked the Summer Infant Swaddleme.  When she outgrew those, the Halo Sleepsack Swaddle became my favorite. But now she can roll over(!!), and I am okay swaddling her in the rock n’play sleeper, but not in the crib. I ordered one of the Woombie Plus swaddlers because she still wakes up with the startle reflex. Hopefully that stops soon so she can sleep unswaddled. She also naps sometimes in a loose swaddle in the Aden & Anais bamboo muslin swaddle blanket. I love these blankets, but not for swaddling. She always escapes them! I’ve decided velcro is her friend 🙂

photo(4)

  • Zipper footie outfits. Carter’s are my favorite – they are wide enough to accommodate her cloth diapers. Zippers are just so much faster and easier to get G in out of than snaps.

photo(6)

  • The bumbo! Not until G was almost 3 month though. She kept trying to sit up on her own, and her head strength was pretty good, so I decided to give it a try. And she LOVES sitting in it and playing with her toys.

photo(3)

  • A taggie blanket. G discovered her hands shortly after 2 months. Everything goees straight into her mouth. My friend sent her this and G freaking LOVES this thing!

I know there are more, but I have #mommybrain.

What are your new mom must haves?

2 thoughts on “New mom must haves: first 3 months

  1. Thanks for all the great ideas! I have number 2 on the way…due in June. That’s a great idea about prepping food before bed. Love your blog! G is adorable!!

Leave a Reply

