Body After Baby: Month 3

Joining Elf 4 Health helped jumpstart my motivation. Thanks in big part to my round 1 and round 3 elves, Kelly & Hannah, as well as all my new instagram friends! I have just over a month left of maternity leave *wah!* and my goal is to be able to wear my work wardrobe when I return.

Screen shot 2013-01-04 at 11.56.51 AM

Last weekend I did a MAJOR clothes purge – getting rid of quite a few items that even when I do fit into them again  I know I still won’t like. Two kitchen size garbage bags went to Goodwill, and 2 more are bundled up to try to sell to Fringe & Frey. Genevieve helped me pick what to keep and what to toss. I tried on every pair of pants I own, no joke, and almost ALL of them zip(!!). They don’t look great by any stretch of the imagination, but the fact that they zip is pretty motivating. I’m still looking to tighten up a bit, and ditch about 3-4 inches overall. I’m so close!

Screen shot 2013-01-04 at 11.57.07 AM

One of the Elf 4 Health challenges this week was to create a fitness goal for the year. I have two! One is pretty loose: get back into running. I can’t really participate easily in this goal yet, as the roads are still pretty icy in my neighborhood and I dropped my gym membership last January. But I am going to train for Bloomsday (a 12K on May 5th), either to run, or to join the stroller group, which I’m only allowed to walk in. I’d prefer to walk, but it would be nice for Genevieve to be able to participate, so if I need to walk it I will.

My second goal is to go to Zumba every Saturday morning that I am in town. So tomorrow will be my first Zumba class since G was born, and I am so excited about it! I’d love to go Tuesday and Thursday afternoons too, but classes start at 4:30, and the hubs is still at work. But once a week is still pretty good.

Screen shot 2013-01-04 at 11.56.27 AM

The other days of the week I plan to cross-train and weight train. I’ve been using G in my squats and lunges for my weights, and wow, my bum and hamstrings are killing me! I also use my elliptical a lot. Genevieve is not a huge napper – just short cat naps here and there – so I start my workout while she’s napping, then I transfer her to her play gym when she wakes up. Sometimes she lasts for the remainder of my workout. Other times (ok, most of the time) she gets fussy and I have to hold her. She LOVES riding on the elliptical with me. She talks to me and giggles the whole time. It is pretty cute, but if I don’t pay attention to my posture it can really kill my back. I need to order the Ergo to hold her, because she weighs too much now to make the baby bejorn comfortable. Here is a little video I shot of how I make this work (ignore my baby-talk voice!):

So there it is, my no excuses/make it happen approach to body after baby. It is working so far!

Mamas, how do you fit your work-outs in?

4 thoughts on “Body After Baby: Month 3

  1. Working out with a baby is hard, especially when you don’t have gym membership. I did long training runs on saturdays or sundays, and I get short ones in when Nick gets home from work. Now that B is older he works out with me and tries to imitate squats and lunges and my favorite squat jumps. He is really excited, so I try to do the easier stuff while he is awake, go to nap and then bust out as much as possible. But also know that somedays it just isn’t going to happen and that’s okay too 🙂

Leave a Reply

