#Elf4Health Round 1 Recap

How is round one of Elf for Health over?! The past two weeks flew by. I was matched with Kelly of Cupcake Kelly’s, and we have quite a bit in common. She’s a (former) middle school teacher turned stay at home mom, who’s living with her in-laws while waiting to move into her new house. I used to teach middle school, prior to my placement in 4th grade, am currently a stay at home mom because of my maternity leave :), and also lived with my in-laws for a short time. Funny how a random match wound up being so perfect!

nutritionella

So, how did I do? Well, I’ll give myself an A for effort πŸ˜‰

Week 1:

Monday: go meatless

c8394f18398811e2b9c722000a9e07b7_7

Green monster (oatmeal, protein powder, stevia, 1/2 banana, chia seeds, spinach) for breakfast, farro + scrambled egg + avocado + salsa for lunch, and black bean/butternut burritos for dinner. Win!

Tuesday: send a card or handwritten note to a friend

Screen shot 2012-12-09 at 12.12.58 PM

I got myself caught up on thank you’s…not really the point of the challenge, but they needed to be written!

Wednesday: Try a new workout

Screen shot 2012-12-09 at 12.14.25 PM

I found a stroller workout, but the craziness of the day with Genevieve prevented me from doing it. I pushed this challenge a week in the future, when I discovered Latin Groove in the On Demand fitness section. Genevieve didn’t want to hang, so she joined me for most of it. Cardio mixed with strength!

Thursday: Get up 15 minutes early to meditate and reflect

#Fail. I never know when I’ll be getting up, it totally depends on when Genevieve wakes up and wants to nurse. I intended to set aside 15 minutes during nap time to meditate and reflect, but we had a nap strike, and G would only nap ON me. Kind of hard to focus on yourself that way.

Friday: How many colors can you eat?

My chicken wrap dinner included green avocado, orange bell pepper, and red tomatoes.

Saturday: clean out your closets and make a donation bag

Oh lordy, this is an ongoing task. The hubs and I are total hoarders. But our 4th bedroom reno is almost complete, so as we move things into that room, we’ve been cleaning and organizing, which comes with a ton of donation bags. And as I slowly start fitting into my pre-pregnancy wardrobe I am sorting through the clothes that don’t flatter and sending them on their way.

Week 2

Monday: Track your fiber

Screen shot 2012-12-09 at 12.24.11 PM

I originally was going to reach 40 grams, but my planned dinner wound up being WAY too spicy for me, which took away 15 grams! But my sub-in dinner had 3 grams, so I hit 28 for the day.

Tuesday: make your own salad dressing

Screen shot 2012-12-09 at 12.27.11 PM

Done, and done! I almost exclusively use my secret recipe homemade shallot honey mustard dressing. I already had a batch in the fridge, easy peasy.

Wednesday: pack a healthy snack & pack an extra for a friend

Screen shot 2012-12-09 at 12.30.23 PM

Well, Genevieve is the only pal I hung out with, and her snacks are pretty nutritious as long as I’m eating well πŸ˜‰ I snacked on an apple, which I had to cut one handed because G was having a very fussy day.

Thursday: Lift some weights

Screen shot 2012-12-09 at 12.32.22 PM

Pushed to Saturday, when I added G to my yoga πŸ™‚

Friday: go make-up free

Screen shot 2012-12-09 at 12.34.20 PM

That’s pretty much every day while I’m not working.

Saturday: meal plan

Screen shot 2012-12-09 at 12.36.46 PM

Pushed to today. I’m excited to try out some new recipes that have been in my pinterest dinners & lunches board for a while. I fell out of the habit of meal planning when school got out in June. I need to get back into the habit so we quit wasting food and money!

All in all I think I did pretty well. I’m very sad to lose my elf though! I keep checking my email to see if I have my new elf. No dice yet!

5 thoughts on “#Elf4Health Round 1 Recap

  1. Wow I would say you did amazing!!

    I’m sorry I am so behind on commenting…I’m catching up now!

    PS I don’t remember when I last wore makeup…It’s been at least 5 years 😳

Leave a Reply

