33 weeks

 

How Big is the Baby?

Sources vary, but somewhere around 19 inches long (she may or may not still be growing length wise) and between 4.5 and 5 pounds. She is roughly the size of a pineapple. Yum, pineapple sounds SO good right now!

 

How I’m Changing

My belly button is almost flush with the rest of my tummy. I’ll be an outie soon. I’m starting to swell in my fingers, which I know is more heat related than water consumption related. I’m drinking somewhere around 130 ounces a day, possibly more. But the plus side to swelling is I am wearing my great-grandmother’s engagement ring because it now fits!

 

How I’m Feeling

My sciatic pain is more frequent, like a dull glute ache. Also, nausea is back! Gahhh, I thought I was free from it, but apparently not. And heartburn is intermittent. I’ve been having some pregnancy insomnia, which is killer by the way, and around 4 or 5 in the morning I’ll be starving. I can’t find something that works well as a snack to help me fall back to sleep. I’ve attempted nuts, which would be my top choice, but they give me killer heartburn (at least in the early morning hours, not in the afternoon or evening, weird!).

 

What I’m Eating

Lots of zucchini and yellow squash. And this week our tomatoes finally turned red! The hubs made a very tasty pasta sauce with them and I have some bruschetta plans in the very near future. But I honestly don’t have much of an appetite, which I think it mostly due to the heat. I’m slugging water like crazy!

 

Odds and Ends

My second baby shower was this weekend, and my parents came into town for it. I finally snapped a picture of me with Grandpa Spinach. I’m glad we did because otherwise we wouldn’t have one together with me pregnant.

 

I received the yellow rug I ordered for the nursery, only to be very disappointed. Online it looked like a buttery yellow, but in person it was more dish-water/mustard yellow. I love mustard yellow, but it isn’t the hue I’m going for. Luckily I ordered it from JC Penny, so I could return it to the store without a hassle or paying for return shipping. But the yellow rug hunt of 2012 continues.

 

And finally, I started setting up my classroom yesterday. I planned to meet up with the teacher who I’ll be job sharing with this year, but she texted me Sunday night to say she needed to reschedule because she had her baby! I moved into her classroom, so I spent the whole day trying to figure out where to put my stuff, and where her stuff was located. Hopefully I don’t screw up her organization system too much! Unfortunately I really overdid it. I was there from 9-4, in 97 degree heat and the building isn’t air-conditioned. Only three of my six windows open (the others are painted shut I think), so the heat was pretty stifling. I came home and had to lie down for 2 hours afterward. Luckily today I woke up to rain and 65 degrees! My classroom was much more bearable!

Things I can’t wait to eat again: I’m getting excited about pumpkin beer season 😉

# of times I get up to pee each night: varies, the other night it was 8 or 9! But usually 3-4

Days until my next appointment: 1 week

Total weight gained: 18.5 pounds

Exercise: setting up classroom and early morning walks are all I can handle with the heat

Cravings: water, bubble water made in my soda stream mixed with limeade

Aversions: most warm foods…too hot

What I miss: lying down without heartburn and sleeping through the night

 

4 thoughts on “33 weeks

  1. That is awesome that you get to wear the family ring- it is BEAUTIFUL! WOW! ….I had to give up my wedding ring a week and a half ago, only to put on the other ‘wedding ring’ that has a lot of sentimental value to the husband and myself.
    It is the weirdest thing ever to share a teaching space. My sub and I are co-existing till I have this baby. It is so different! …..Take care of yourself working in that classroom. Don’t overdo it! Okay- enough mothering. 🙂

    • So are you guys co-teaching, or are you teaching and she’s helping like a student teacher would?
      Yes, I LOVE the ring! My aunt emailed me last year saying she had something for me and when she got around to it she would drop it in the mail. Turns out it was the ring and it showed up months later. I was shocked!

  2. Ok- you look amazing- you don’t look any bigger from week to week, so I’m thinking you’re gonna have a 6 pounder…. Oh – you are also very photogenic and you take awesome pictures. Look forward to seeing you back at school. Don’t over do it! I spent my last pregnancy on bed rest for 4 months- not the,ideal scenerio. You don’t want to go there. We need you at school and baby and daddy need their mommie in good health!

Leave a Reply

