31 Weeks

How Big is the Baby?

Approximately 19 inches and 3.9 pounds. She is still around the size of a head of lettuce.

 

How I’m Changing

I’m loosy goosy! I’m not sure if it is my groin muscle, a tendon, or a ligament, but at the top of my right leg something is loose. Stupid progesterone. Every so often I’ll almost fall over because it spazzes out. It isn’t varicose veins, or anything I can see. It is really annoying, so I need to discuss it with my midwife at my next appointment. I’m already clumsy as it is, I don’t need any help in the falling department!

 

How I’m Feeling

Better than last week! Thank God for chiropractors and massage therapists, seriously! After getting adjusted (twice last week!) I felt much better. Now my back is just achy at the end of the day, rather than constant throbbing pain.

The snoogle also helps me sleep. However, my sciatic nerve is causing difficulty in that department. If I spend the entire night on my left side, like I’m “supposed to,” I wake up with a completely numb and tingly left leg. So annoying!

 

What I’m Eating

I’m never in the mood to eat, nothing is appealing. Plus my stomach is filing up faster, so when I do eat it is a rather short experience, haha. So I’ve been drinking protein shakes more than I’d like, but at least they get me the calories and protein Baby Spinach benefits from.

 

Odds and Ends

Oh man, so many! This weekend was my first baby shower! This February I threw my friend Erica’s baby shower,and Saturday she returned the favor, full of yellow, grey, and elephants! She purchased an absolutely adorable baby shower elephant safari set from etsy, and it matches my nursery theme perfectly 🙂

She set out a fabulous spread of food, 

and even had some skittles in honor of the blog!

 

It was wonderful to spend an afternoon relaxing with some lovely ladies.

 

Also in attendance were my mom and my 91-year-old grandma! My parents were supposed to spend last week in Oregon on vacation and visiting my grandma, but my grandma decided she wanted to visit the hubs and me, so my mom drove her up. Perfect timing with the baby shower!

 

I can’t wait until Baby Spinach arrives and my grandma will become a great-grandma for the first time! My mom drove back home the next morning, but grandma was here until this afternoon. We had a great time, visiting Green Bluff to buy fresh fruit, driving out to Coeur d’Alene to explore, and reading our books 🙂

 

Also noteworthy, my fabric for the crib bedding arrived! Tomorrow afternoon I’m driving out to my in-laws so my mother-in-law can help me. She helped the hubs pick out the sewing machine he got me for Christmas, and it is the same as hers. So it will be much easier to have someone who really knows what she’s doing, (and knows my super high-tech-I’m-afraid-to-use-for-fear-I’ll-break-it machine!), help me.

And two birth specific related exciting things: first, I’m purchasing a plane ticket for my bestie from college, Ali, who is flying up from Colorado to be my doula! So, God willing, Baby Spinach will arrive between Oct. 3 and Oct. 11. And second, we’ve booked our maternity, birth, and newborn photog Laura Fifield. So exciting!

Things I can’t wait to eat again: I just want to feel like eating.

# of times I get up to pee each night:  2-3

Days until my next appointment: 1 week

Total weight gained: 17 pounds. After not gaining anything for 3 weeks I’m finally gaining again. I was getting a little worried!

Exercise: lots of walking. I’m loving before noon (and before it gets too hot) walks around the park with my preggie pals podcasts 🙂

Cravings: none

Aversions: none

What I miss: summer, haha, school starts soon and I don’t feel ready…but I don’t want to prep, even though I know I should. I just want to soak up these last few weeks of just me time.

10 thoughts on “31 Weeks

  1. I’m pretty sure that is the fabric (the grey non chevron one) my mom made baby’s curtains out of!!!!! LOVE IT!!! 🙂 …..I’m glad Baby Spinach’s Great Grandma was able to make it to the shower- howe exciting! My shower will be on Friday night! Yours looks so amazing and wonderful- friends that love us enough to do that are such a rare gift!
    Oh school- I feel you on the whole school thing. It is coming up so quickly! …I have been living in my classroom trying to get things ready. AND my long term sub just took all the lesson plan books and teachers editions because she wants to plan from the start. It was the weirdest feeling! I’m giving away my kids! Ahhhhh! (but she’s great! I’m glad I have a good sub!)

    • Great minds think alike! I hope your nursery is coming along nicely. I still need to purchase, and have the hubs install, the ceiling fan. As well as a slew of other not-really-necessary-but-I-still-want purchases 😉

      I still don’t know who my long term sub will be…and it is really nerve wracking! I gave my principal a list of my top 5 choices, so hopefully one of them will be available! The thought of handing over my classroom to someone I don’t know is scary. Actually, handing it over at all is scary, haha, I’m such a control freak!

  2. Pingback: Baby Shower X2 |

  3. Pingback: Flash from the past |

Leave a Reply

