Bernadette’s Berry Buckle

Way back in the day my parents didn’t have a lot of money, but they did have love and creativity. Everyone they knew had kids graduating from high school, getting married, or other milestones that required a gift. So my mom gathered recipes from friends and family and created a cookbook chock full of comfort foods.

When I moved into a dorm with a fully equipped kitchen my Sophomore year of college my mom gifted me a copy of this same cookbook. I use it all the time, but for some silly reason haven’t posted many of the recipes. I think the only one I have posted is Grandma Crider’s German Sweet Chocolate Cake, (which is amazing and doesn’t have that crappy syrupy coconut frosting).

Today I’m sharing another one of my favorites: my mom’s any berry buckle. It is the perfect way to use up some of those summer berries that are super cheap right now. I like to eat a square or two with a scoop of homemade ice cream 🙂

Bernadette’s Berry Buckle

Ingredients

Crust:

1/4 Cup butter

1/2 Cup sugar

1 tsp vanilla

1 egg

1 Cup sifted flour

1/4 tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

~~~~~~~~~~

Filling:

2-2.5 cups berries – raspberries, blackberries, blueberries, any berry will do

1/2 Cup sugar

~~~~~~~~~~

Topping:

1/3 Cup flour

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 Cup butter

Directions

Pre-heat oven to 375.

In a large bowl cream 1/4 C butter, 1/2 C sugar, and vanilla. Add egg and mix well. Add 1 C flour, 1/4 tsp salt, and 1 tsp baking soda. Mix until combined, and press into a greased 8×8 pan (I use a dab of coconut oil on a paper towl & spread it around).

In a medium size bowl combine berries and sugar. Spread over crust in pan.

In the same large bowl you used earlier combine 1/3 C flour, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, and 1/4 C butter. Sprinkle over the berry filling.

Bake for 40-45 minutes, or until the topping is golden brown.

Try to wait until the buckle cools to enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Bernadette’s Berry Buckle

  1. Love the idea of the cookbook- I bet it would be one of my favorite recipe books if I were you! I love the tried and true recipes that never fail and always please….. This looks delicious! I don’t think I could wait for it to cool 🙂 I’d burn my lil taste-buds right off!

Leave a Reply

