27 weeks

Hello 3rd Trimester!

Sources are conflicted with the start of the 3rd tri. Some say 27 weeks, some say 28. So since I am more than halfway through the 27th week I consider myself officially in the 3rd tri now – yikes! So.Much.To.Do!

How Big is the Baby?

Approximately 16 inches and 2.5 pounds. She is about the size of a head of cauliflower. I might be in the minority here, but I love cauliflower, especially when it is roasted. And my little cauliflower is quite the mover and shaker. It is like she is doing summersaults in my uterus. And I think she’s been grabbing my bladder with her hands. My mom swears I did this, so I guess it is payback?

 

How I’m Changing

I’ve been having braxton hicks on a semi-daily basis. I’ve been having them since week 25, but forgot to mention them. They aren’t painful at all, like Rachel led me to believe.

They feel just like the books describe – a sudden tightening of the uterus, where it is hard as a rock, and then just like that, they are over. It happens once or twice a day, sometimes every other day. It might happen every day, but I barely even notice them.

Also, my ribs have expanded again to house my ever rising organs as Baby Spinach grows. This is rather annoying, as I have very narrow shoulders, and a small distance from the top of my shoulders to the top of my chest. And before my ribs took on a life of their own I had a very small ribcage. This means I often purchase petite tops, or they need to be on the small side up top in order to not show off my lady bits. Unfortunately, my new ribs haven’t increased the distance from the top of my chest to my shoulders, so my tops are tight in the ribs, and tops that fit in the ribs are way too big up top. And as far as my search has led me, I can’t find petite maternity tops. Sigh. #firstworldproblems I know.

 

How I’m Feeling

Oh sciatic nerve, how I wish we never had to meet. My drive to/from Yakima last week really did a number on me. I am ordering an Obus Forme support for my car, so hopefully my drive to Yakima/Portland/Albany and back to Spokane next week won’t be as bad. I had a prenatal massage yesterday, and it helped a little with the leg numbness/sciatic pain, but not as much as I would have liked. I wish my Chiro wasn’t in France.

 

What I’m Eating

Cold quinoa/bean/veggie salads. Greek salads. Caprese Salads. And lots of fruit salads over cottage cheese. Mmmm salad.

 

Odds and Ends

The hubs painted the nursery while I was in Yakima. Each time I walk in there I get a huge grin on my face because I LOVE the color so much. It really helps me picture how I want the nursery to come together. He also hung the new curtain rods that I purchased for 40% off at Jo-Ann’s this weekend. The rods that were in the room previously were black and didn’t look very nice against the pale robin’s nest color. So since the rods in our room were not installed properly by the previous owners (they were ridiculously tilted), and could not be adjusted in length, we’re putting the old nursery room ones into our room.

 

The hubs also tried to paint one of our espresso bookcases. Unfortunately, no amount of liquid sandpaper or primer made specifically for laminate coated particle board would allow for paint to stick. So it is quite the ugly mess right now. I am on a mission to make this bookshelf work! So I think I can fix the problem with a 3rd coat of paint to the shelves and frame of the bookshelf. And I purchased fabric (at 50% off!) from Jo-Ann’s this weekend and I am going to try to adhere it to the back and sides of the bookshelf. I really hope this works, because I really want a white bookshelf, I don’t want to have to buy another bookshelf when I have one that could work, and the fabric I bought is really adorable.

And last nursery piece: our crib arrived! The hubs wanted to put it together right away, but I convinced him to wait a week or so, until after are hardwoods are refinished. Oh yes, we did do that already in the living/dining room, but now we need to refinish the floors in the nursery and our bedroom because they weren’t done properly by the previous owners and look like crap in comparison. They are also much darker, and it hurts my eyes to see the transition into the living room. Again, #firstworldproblems, I know.

And not on nursery topic, I’ve become obsessed with cloth diapering. Or rather, learning about cloth diapering. A lot of my friends cloth diaper, so I’ve gotten a few hands on tutorials, but I love soaking up as much knowledge as I can. This week I received 4 Lotus Bumz, that I ordered off a Totsy sale, and they are so stinkin’ cute!

Lotus Bumz Ladybug

Things I can’t wait to eat again: Deli meat. Now that it is hotttt I have no desire to eat hot lunches. Cold quinoa salads and almond butter sandwiches are great, but I’d like to vary it up a bit.

# of times I get up to pee each night:1-2

Days until my next appointment: 2 – glucose test, ahh!

Total weight gained: Still 13.5, but I’m sure I’ll weigh in more at the doc office. Their scales always show more weight gain than my home scale.

Exercise: Depending on how I’m feeling after my glucose test, I plan to go to my first prenatal yoga class on Thursday 🙂 I’ve also been hitting the elliptical, and if it ever cools down I’ll be walking in the morning.

Cravings: Jimmy Johns and San Francisco Eatery. Which makes the whole missing deli meat thing even sadder.

Aversions: still none. Unless my sciatic nerve counts. Can I just remove it for the next 2.5 months?

What I miss: sleeping comfortably

 

 What are your favorite cold non-deli meat lunches?

7 thoughts on “27 weeks

  1. You look amazing! We like to bake chicken on Sunday nights and throw it in various salads for lunch during the week. Although, turning on the oven really heats up the place, I just plan to avoid the kitchen when it is on!

  2. I’m cloth diapering as well- my mom got me a wonderful starter system and I’m so thankful that she flipped the bill on that one. What a blessing! ….I am excited about it and hope it works out really well. You’ll have to let us all know how you like that brand!
    You’re looking great! So happy for you and baby spinach ❤
    Cold lunches? SMOOTHIES!!!!

    • How nice of your mom! What brand did you go with? Is the starter system newborn size? My good friend’s baby just outgrew her newborn cloth diapers, so she is lending them to me 🙂 So I just need to buy the one size ones. I think I am going to do a mix of AIO’s and Pockets. What kind did you go with?

      • I got BestBottom diapers. They have inserts that snap in and are mommy approved for this area- the most popular (geeze and soooooo expensive!) and daddy friendly. It hasn’t been the easiest getting the husband on board with the whole thing. Poor guy is married to a tree hugger 🙂

      • LOL, I just mentioned the $1500-$2000 we’d spend on disposables per child and the hubs got on board real quick. Me wanting to encapsulate my placenta, however, yeah, the hubs thinks he married a crazy tree hugger too 😉

  3. Pingback: 28 Weeks |

Leave a Reply

