Fauxbux Passion Iced Tea Lemonade

Yesterday I promised this recipe. If you can even call it a recipe. It is a no brainer, really, but that doesn’t stop me from pulling into the drive-thru and paying $4 for a refreshing cup of this summery goodness.

So this is really more of a method post, than a recipe post.

I start the process when I wake up (or if I plan ahead, right before I go to bed) – boil 8 oz of water and let my passion tea bag steep for 4 minutes. Any more and it will be bitter. Smash bag with a spoon and pop it in the fridge for a few hours. I like to top my cup with a ventilated lid so my fridge doesn’t get covered in steam. If my fridge wasn’t tiny I’d brew up a big batch of tea, but that is sadly not the case.

If you like your tea sweetened you should stir in a teaspoon of sugar before letting it cool. You can also whip up a batch of simple syrup (water to sugar in a 1:2 ratio, boil water, add sugar, and once sugar is dissolved remove from heat. Let cool and store in the fridge.), but I find regular sugar to be just as effective. The benefit to simple syrup is that you can easily stir it in cold drinks.

Once your tea is cold, stir in 1/3 cup lemonade and pour over ice. I like mine with raspberry lemonade. Julie subs the lemonade for pineapple juice, which I think is a brilliant idea!

What is your favorite summer drink?

2 thoughts on “Fauxbux Passion Iced Tea Lemonade

  1. L.O.V.E. drinking this! I can’t get enough- I have been putting it in my martini shaker and going to town on it so it is super cold and has a slight froth to it. (I also added a splash of milk once and it made it super frothy’ish in my martini shaker!)

Leave a Reply

