Nesting begins

This weekend nesting really kicked in. The hubs actually jump started it, as he and his dad have spent the majority of their free weekends renovating our 4th bedroom – turning it into a finished bedroom/office. I can’t start decorating the nursery until this room is done. So until then, I’m attacking other projects around the house.

What really kicked nesting into high gear this weekend was the fact that we ripped out the carpet in the dining/living room and had the hardwood floors underneath refinished.

Before:

After:

So.Much.Prettier.

The dust from the floors was all over the walls, so I googled homemade wall cleaner, ran to Wal-Mart for supplies, and spent 3 hours washing walls with a simple solution of 1 TBS baking soda, 1/8th cup baking soda, 1/8th cup lemon scented clear ammonia, and water in a 32 oz spray bottle.

Then I hit up Pinterest, looking to tackle my kitchen.

First up – clean the fridge.

Once it was emptied, I was struck by how disgusting the shelves were.

gross

I washed the inside and out with 4 cups water mixed with 1/4 cup baking soda and some essential oil (lemon juice would work if you don’t have any essential oil).

Tada!

And now it is organized, hallelujah, I can find my food.

(later that night I fixed that empty fruit drawer problem)

After dinner I tackled the stove top with help from this pin. I filled 4 gallon size freezer bags with 3 TBS lemon scented clear ammonia and put one stove top grate in each.

Look at that grime. Gross.

I let them sit 12 hours and rinsed them the following morning with water and scrubbed a bit with an SOS pad. Well, the hubs did that part. The ammonia smell was pretty overwhelming, and I decided it wasn’t good for me or Baby Spinach to be inhaling the fumes.

And BAM! We have GREY stove grates, not black grates like I originally thought!

I’ve tried everything under the sun to clean these bad boys, but this cheap and easy solution worked better than any of them. I was shocked with the result.

I rounded off my weekend with some pictureless pins by cleaning the tub with a 1:1 ratio of warmed up white vinegar and blue dawn dish soap (yes, it really worked – better than CLR, Scrubbing Bubbles, or any other tub cleaner I’ve tried), and washing my towels with one cycle of 1 cup vinegar, followed by a second cycle of 1 cup baking soda (pin called for 1/2 cup baking soda, but I forgot to double check the pin). The dingy towel smell is gone!

I still have a TON that needs to be done, but I’m very pleased with all the work the hubs and I accomplished this weekend. πŸ™‚

What is your favorite homemade cleaning solution?

6 thoughts on “Nesting begins

  1. Pingback: 25 weeks |

  2. Pingback: 27 weeks |

Leave a Reply

