Loaded Sweet Potato Deliciousness

Today I fell in love. He is sweet, smooth, and has a lovely orange glow.

via

I don’t know what took me so long to try a loaded sweet potato, as I love all things sweet potato. But today was the perfect day to explore this comfort food that has taken the blog land by storm. I woke up to 45 degree weather and rain pouring down outside my window. This doesn’t exactly scream June to me. Instead it screams curl up under the covers with comfort food and episodes of Vampire Diaries.*

*Thanks Chels for the recommendation, I am now totally hooked.

Sourdough bread slathered in butter is my normal comfort food go-to, but I decided to go for nutrition over indulgence and whipped up this bad boy.

Loaded Sweet Potato

Serves 1

Ingredients

1 sweet potato

1/2 cup black beans

1/2 large tomato, diced

2-4 TBS chives, diced

1/4 cup shredded cheese, I used Colby Jack

2-4 TBS plain Greek yogurt

sprinkling of cumin

sea salt and pepper to taste

Directions

Poke sweet potato with a fork a few times, wrap in a paper towel and nuke 4-6 minutes. Nuke beans for 30 seconds. Mix sweet potato insides with cheese and top with black beans, tomatoes, chives, Greek yogurt, cumin, salt and pepper. I think this  would also be excellent with salsa.

What is your favorite way to enjoy a sweet potato?

3 thoughts on “Loaded Sweet Potato Deliciousness

Leave a Reply

