Professionally developed, not my meals [yet] [WIAW]

Monday and Tuesday I attended GLAD (guided language acquisition design) training. While I don’t have any English language learners in my classroom, I think the strategies benefit all learners. In February I spent 4 days in a 2nd grade classroom observing the strategies in action and was completely overwhelmed.

I had to do the training out of order, but the past two days have really helped cement the strategies in my head. I also was able to sit with 2 1st grade teacher’s from my building and another 4th grade teacher in our district – it was great to bounce ideas off one another and see how things could be applied at different levels. I left with lots of ideas I am excited to try out next school year.

But I’m not going to lie, the training was L-O-N-G. Teachers are not used to sitting all day! I had to keep getting up and stretching. I also needed lots of fuel. Thanks for hosting another round of What I Ate Wednesday Jenn! And while I didn’t know June’s theme ahead of time, I think I did a pretty good job. Dinner though….eh, not so much.

B

Major protein smoothie & SBUX grande no water soy chai

S

half a pb&j + coconut water oh wait, I forgot that in the freezer ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

L

Lunch was provided, but today it was a build your own sandwich bar. I’ve never been to a district training that had this option (it is usually a hot dish) so I didn’t bring a back up. I was able to create a salad out of the sandwich toppings (a nice high schooler brought me a side of ranch), and had some pasta salad w/veggies as well as a roll with a slice of provolone. Random, but it worked.

S

apple crisp situation made by the students at the Skills Center (where our training was – its on-the-job training through our school district for high schoolers. They make a mean dessert)

After lunch I won a drawing for a stack of old National Geographics. Yes, I know, this sounds like a really exciting prize. It actually goes along with the strategies we learned. And look what was in my pile:

The most iconic National Geographic cover ever!

S

pink lady apple, 1/2 a bell pepper & Justin’s Maple Almond Butter (my new obsession – I just received a 3-pack from Amazon ๐Ÿ™‚ )

D

The plan was tilapia, quinoa and sauteed kale. But someone (not me) had a craving for pizza. I didn’t argue too much ๐Ÿ™‚ I had a slice of pepperoni and 2 breadsticks. I have a weakness for Pizza Hut breadsticks.

I’d really like another slice of that apple crisp situation.

What is your favorite nut butter?

6 thoughts on “Professionally developed, not my meals [yet] [WIAW]

  1. We had district training/conferences all.day.long on Monday and Tuesday- my bum was KILLING me- I was sooooo uncomfortable sitting all day! It seriously hurt so I feel your pain….. I am loving my homemade almond butter with a passion! So many ways I can make it and I like it better than store bought- plus I get to control the ingredients.

  2. OH MY GOSH I LOVE JUSTIN’S CHOCOLATE HAZELNUT BUTTER!!! I also love “I love peanut butter”‘s Dark Chocolate peanut butter, white chocolate wonderful and bees knees! The cinnamon swirl ranks right up there too…

    ….I eat way too much nut butter!!

  3. I’m a nut butter fan. Huge nut butter fan. I’ve been really into making my own almond butter lately. It’s so easy and just tastes so much better than anything.

Leave a Reply

