May Foodie Pen Pals

I am SO happy it is the end of May. Between the MSP (mandatory state testing), end of unit assessments, MAP testing and trying to wrap up the end of the school year, I am exhausted. Unfortunately my kiddos still have end of trimester testing next week and I still have massive amounts of grading to do. But I’ll worry about that later, right now I’d rather enjoy the content of my foodie pen pal box.

The Lean Green Bean

This month I sent a box off to Alexis at Fit Possible, and Maria at Lil Mys Ninja sent me a box of goodies. When Maria asked what I’d like to see, I told her I was trying to up my protein. And she supplied lots of greatΒ  protein-infused treats πŸ™‚

In the box I found: steel cut oats, Nature Valley protein bars, Luna/Zone/LaraBars, a mystery item, and the ingredients for Maria’s favorite trail mix.

Her mix includes craisins, raisins, dark chocolate chips, whole almonds, and slivered almonds. I’m enjoying this mix very much, but I might add some more nuts to lower the sugar consumed in each serving.

I love all the bars she sent me, and I am really glad she tuned me into the fact that Nature Valley makes a protein bar – they are probably a lot more cost effective than my Kind bars πŸ˜‰

For the second month in a row I’ve had my box sent to the hubs office, and for the second month in a row it has been opened and inspected by the hubs before I’ve seen the contents. When I came home he told me there was a really weird item in the box.

He wanted to know why Maria sent me powdered applesauce. I took one look at the container and told him it was something in bulk and she was being resourceful. Ya know, reuse, recycle, that whole thing. We food bloggers think alike. The letter confirmed that the container was not, in fact, dried applesauce (is there such a thing?), and was a scoop of her absolute favorite protein powder. I haven’t tried it yet (because I often hoard things I can’t readily get more of), but I’m sure I’ll enjoy it when I do.

Thanks again Maria for the awesome box of goodies! And thanks Lindsay for hosting another month of foodie pen pal fun. If you’re interested in joining for June (and you should!), please click here and fill out the form no later than Monday, June 4th. Lindsay will send matches on Tuesday, June 5th.

What are the ingredients to your favorite trail mix?

Wal-Mart, of all places, has this amazingly delicious trail mix that includes peanut butter chips and butterscotch chips. I can’t remember what else is in it, but it is my favorite and I always pick up a bag when we go camping.

14 thoughts on “May Foodie Pen Pals

  1. I need to stock up on protein bars ASAP! We will be away from my normal eats all weekend- as we are going to a friend’s wedding. I hate being away from food that makes me comfortable but then again- I’m going to a ‘CITY’ so I’m sure I can find something to eat! πŸ™‚ Maybe some fro-yo for protein!
    ….Trail mix- I don’t eat it very often but I LOVE a hand full when I get it somewhere! I just don’t like it in my house- I can’t stop eating the stuff!!!!!

    • Haha, I am sure you will be fine in a city πŸ˜‰ Although I know what you mean. Every time I go to Seattle to visit friends or to Yakima to visit my parents I bring a cooler of “my” food to make sure I get what I want to eat. I am not very good at the whole “go with the flow” thing.

  2. Just as I can never quite find a menu item with all things I love, trail mixes are impossible!…almost. I *LOVE* the Honey Roasted Trail Mix in Huckleberries’ bulk section!! It’s your basic peanuts, raisins, chocolate rounds, dried pineapple chunks, & almonds. It’s so nice, being honey-sweet instead of sugary.

  3. That’s hilarious he thought you received dried applesauce! I can’t even imagine how that would happen, exactly. Resourcefulness is the way to go! What a great package of goodies. I do also enjoy the Lara Bars so I hope you do too.

  4. I’m so glad you’re happy with your package!! πŸ™‚ Even though you told me what happened with your husband already, reading your blog post about it made me laugh all over again!!! Hahaha!

Leave a Reply

