Fauxbux Bacon Gouda Breakfast Sandwich

I have a Friday ritual of treating myself to a grande decaf 2-pump vanilla latte and a bacon gouda artisan sandwich. Then my ritual started sliding back to Thursday, so I could make it through my weekly meeting. And then it found itself wedging into my Wednesday. This was creating a dent in my fun money that I’d rather save for pedicures.

via

So this weekend I purchased some bagel thins and gouda cheese and got to work. It isn’t exactly the same, but it hits the spot and is quite quick and easy to whip up on a work morning.

Fauxbux Bacon Gouda Breakfast Sandwich

Nutritionals: Cal 356, Carb 25g, Fat 22g, Pro 19g, Fiber 5g, Sugar 4g

Ingredients

1 Thomas Everything Bagel Thin

1 large egg

1 oz gouda cheese

1 slice bacon

1/2 TBS butter

salt & pepper to taste (or Jane’s Krazy Salt)

Directions

Bake up a batch of bacon any night of the week: line a jelly roll pan with foil, lay bacon on pan, put in cold oven and bring to 400, bake for 13 minutes and flip, bake an additional 5-10 minutes, removing when desired brownness is reached. De-grease on paper towels and store in the fridge for future use.

On the morning you’d like to enjoy your sammie, heat a small pan to medium and spray with cooking spray or olive oil. Crack egg into pan and stir up the yolk a tad. Flip as soon as possible, and layer a slice of gouda on top. Break one slice of bacon into two pieces and add to the pan. Cover pan and cook approximately one minute, or until the bottom of the egg is cooked through. Cook longer to increase the cheese melt factor.

Meanwhile, toast and butter your bagel thin. Top with egg/gouda and bacon. Wrap in foil to keep warm for your morning commute.

Now I just need to purchase a Nespresso and my fauxbux fix will be complete.

What is your favorite Starbucks menu item?

8 thoughts on “Fauxbux Bacon Gouda Breakfast Sandwich

  1. The whole splurge thing is the only good thing about living in the middle of nowhere. I don’t have any place to splurge. AT ALL. I would have to drive 40 miles one way to get someone else to make my coffee. Yep, not worth it at all.
    Looks like a delicious start to a day!

  2. I love recreating favorites from restaurants!!!

    I don’t remember the last time I was at Starbucks BUT there is a coffee shop I like to visit and I always get a soy milk steamer with chai flavouring! LOVE IT!

  3. Pingback: What I ate while expecting [WIAW] |

  4. Pingback: Summer’s here! [WIAW] |

  5. Pingback: 28 Weeks |

  6. Pingback: Starvin’ marvin [WIAW] |

Leave a Reply

