Monster Protein Smoothie

When I first found out I was pregnant I immediately dove into literature recommended by my doula friend, Kelly. While I knew a lot of the no-no’s for eating, (unpasteurized cheese, deli meat, & uncooked sushi to name a few), I wasn’t aware of how big a deal protein was. Yes, I knew I should aim for at least 75 grams a day, but I didn’t realize how important it was to the baby’s development.

Unfortunately, first trimester zapped me of all energy and ability to eat real food. Anti-nausea helped curb my all-day morning sickness, but not enough for me to look at a piece of meat and not immediately gag. So I turned to protein shakes to fulfill my daily quota. I had a bunch of GNC Whey powder leftover from my half-marathon training, and plowed through it quickly. But it had a slight aftertaste that I wasn’t a big fan of.

Once my container started to run low I looked around for replacement alternatives and settled on About Time after seeing Liz enjoy it often. Yesterday I raved about it its awesome stats – 25 grams of protein per 103 calorie scoop, lactose free, gluten free, and free of artificial colors and sweeteners. Score.

My latest smoothie creation packs a whopping 39 grams of protein – a pregnant lady’s dream!

Monster Protein Smoothie

Nurtitionals: Cal: 227, Carb 16g, Fat 0g, Pro 39g, Fiber 2g, Sugar 13g

Ingredients

1 scoop About Time protein powder (I have birthday cake, but vanilla would work well too)

5 oz plain non-fat Greek yogurt

3/4 cup frozen mixed berries

4 oz filtered water

1/2 cup ice

Directions

Throw all ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth.

8 thoughts on “Monster Protein Smoothie

    • I track mine in the myfitnesspal app (it also has a website. I used it to help me maintain after a weight loss, so now I switched my stats to “gain a pound a week,” and it gives me a good amount of calories and protein to aim for each day. I try to log Monday-Friday and it has really helped me keep on track w/my protein intake.

  1. Pingback: What I ate while expecting [WIAW] |

  2. Pingback: It’s the week of school [WIAW] |

  3. Pingback: 24 weeks |

  4. Pingback: Instagrammin WIAW |

Leave a Reply

