Starting to taste like Summer [WIAW]

Sunday I celebrated my first Mother’s Day. During the week my kidlets wrote Mother’s Day Haikus as we kicked off our poetry unit, and I received a few myself πŸ™‚

I also received a cute card from my parents, as well as a lovely card and this gorgeous fuschia basket from the hubs.

Each year my dad gets my mom a fuschia for Mother’s Day, so the hubs followed that tradition for me this year.

My what I ate Wednesday this week is my first Mother’s Day menu, chock full of summery delights.

B

Decaf + homemade whip cream

Hubs made fried egg and pan cooked potatoes, bell peppers & onions

L

Salad from the garden with dried cherries, pecans, tomatoes and homemade dressing and an egg salad sandwich made with dijon, 1 laughing cow wedge and paprika.

S

Watermelon! I had, like, 3 bowls while reading in the hammock as the chicks chatted nearby.

As well as some sparkling coconut water, which was perfect for sipping in the sun.

D

Fresh asparagus, mmmmm

Plus some Papa Murphy’s veggie delite pizza.

D

lovely organic strawberries

topped with homemade whip creamΒ  and a shortcake underneath

What summery foods have you enjoyed recently?

2 thoughts on “Starting to taste like Summer [WIAW]

  1. Delicious Mother’s Day! πŸ™‚ ….What a fun day! I did some ‘me’ things to celebrate and enjoy the last mother’s day I’ll have on my own terms- long walks/runs, gardening, fingernail painting on the porch ect… πŸ™‚
    Green smoothies have been brought back full force for summer around here!

Leave a Reply

