Quinoa with feta, pecans and dried cherries

I’m a big fan of bulk cooking.  I will often cook up a batch quinoa on Monday mornings. Rarely do I have a plan for the quinoa, but I know it will be eaten. I throw it in the fridge for an easy weeknight side dish. Last week I whipped up the same mix 3 nights in a row, it was just too tasty to resist.

Quinoa with Feta, Pecans and Dried Cherries

Serves 6*

*I combined 1/3 of each ingredient each night, because I decided on a whim what I wanted.

Ingredients

1 cup quinoa, rinsed

1/3 cup feta, crumbled

1/3 cup chives, chopped (you can sub green onions)

1/3 cup pecan pieces, toasted or 1/3 cup candied pecans, crumbled

2 TBS butter

3/4 tsp oregano

salt and pepper to taste

Directions

Bring 2 cups water and quinoa to a boil. Cover and reduce to simmer for 15 minutes. Remove from heat and let sit for 5 minutes. After water has been fully absorbed, add remaining ingredients. Serve hot or cold.

 

What is your favorite easy weeknight side dish?

4 thoughts on “Quinoa with feta, pecans and dried cherries

  1. I love quinoa salads. So good for you!

    My fav side dish? TRUTH? Corn on the cob. I’m a freak about it.

Leave a Reply

