17 weeks

How Big is the Baby?

 5 inches long – the length of a sweet potato!

 

How I’m Changing

My bump is finally sticking out all day long 🙂 Unfortunately this means it is time for a wardrobe overhaul. I went on a bit of a shopping spree this weekend at Motherhood Maternity and Ross (which has a surprisingly large maternity section). I swapped out all of the tops that are no longer long enough or don’t look right with my new tops and I think getting dressed in he morning will be a lot easier now.

 

How I’m Feeling

Eh, not so great. Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday I was hit again with late afternoon/nighttime nausea. This meant skipping my Wednesday Zumba class. Apparently knocking on wood last week didn’t work. My Thursday appointment needed to be cancelled and rescheduled, so I’m going to talk to my midwife on Friday about the fact that I feel like I am back in week 7.

 

What I’m Eating

Still loving jazz apples! I’m also enjoying a lot of other fruits with my steel cut oats and quinoa for breakfast, hard boiled egg sandwiches for lunch, and large salads with dinner. I made a batch of homemade dressing this week and am enjoying it atop beds of greens with dried cherries, goat cheese and toasted nuts.

 

Odds and Ends

I went to a movie with a friend on Saturday and she had a bag of popcorn. I had a few handfuls and discovered Baby Spinach loved it…so I had some more. The little leaf danced through the whole movie!

Also, we’re researching the Florida Keys for a babymoon in June. The hubs attended to undergrad in Florida, and hasn’t been back since 2004. My dad’s side of the family lives in the Tampa area, so I used to go there every few summers back in the day. My mouth is watering at the thought of key lime pie.

# of times I get up to pee each night:  4-5 still

Days until my next appointment: 5 – and it is the BIG ultrasound appointment!

Total weight gained: 4 pounds

Exercise: Still doing Zumba on Mondays and Wednesdays (although not Wednesday this week), and today the hubs and I took a 5.5 mile bike ride. My friend let me borrow a prenatal yoga dvd, and I need to start using it at least twice a week.

Cravings: Sweets, in particular chocolate and ice cream

Aversions: none right now!

What I miss: Happy Hour, although on Friday night I had a virgin pomegranate mojito and it was delicious.

Have you been to the Florida Keys? What is a must-do/must-eat?

4 thoughts on “17 weeks

  1. Even at almost week 24- I still don’t know what to expect as far as to how I’m feeling or if I’ll be sick or not. I think it’s practice for keeping me on my toes and showing me who is boss 😉
    Oooo, a Babymoon in June- that sounds fun! I have never been to the Keys but wow would I Loooooooove to go!

Leave a Reply

