Happy National Pecan Day!

Not to toot my own horn or anything, but today I made amazing muffins.

I had 5 neglected, and therefore overly-ripe, bananas sitting in my kitchen begging me to turn them into something delicious. I could have gone with my standby banana protein muffins, but decided instead to throw caution to the wind and whip up a batch with quinoa, chia seeds and pecans instead.

And when posting about my new concoction on twitter I discovered it is National Pecan Day, how serendipitous! So although the day is almost over, I won’t judge if you extend the celebration into tomorrow so you can whip up a batch for yourself.

Banana Pecan Quinoa Muffins

Serves 12

Wet ingredients

2 overly-ripe bananas, mashed

1 egg

4 TBS butter

1/2 tsp vanilla bean paste (can sub vanilla extract)

1/2 cup cooked quinoa

Dry ingredients

1 cup white whole wheat flour (I like Bob’s Red Mill, but regular whole wheat or unbleached white would work too)

1/2 cup dark brown sugar, packed

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

3 TBS chia seeds

1/2 cup pecans, chopped

Directions

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

In medium bowl, cream brown sugar and butter. Add remaining wet ingredients and mix until combined.

In a large bowl combine all dry ingredients. Add wet to the dry and mix well. Scoop into 12 lined & sprayed with non-stick cooking spray muffin tins, or silicone muffin cups, and bake 35-40 minutes.

Try to allow to cool before eating.

What is your favorite way to eat pecans?

2 thoughts on “Happy National Pecan Day!

Leave a Reply

