WIAW, Spring Break Edition

I haven’t written a WIAW post in quite a while. Probably because all you’d see would be yogurt, bread, potatoes and other white, bland, and boring items. First trimester and I were not friends. But as I enter the second trimester, my appetite is making a welcomed appearance.

B

cantaloupe, half consumed because I was too hungry to wait

voluminous oats made with 2% and topped with local honey, bee’s knees peanut butter and chia seeds

S

almonds from my March foodie pen pal

L

decaf and a great grains bagel with cream cheese…ok, so maybe all I want to eat the majority of the time is still bland carby-foods

S

protein shake made with GNC whey vanilla protein powder and fresh blueberries – trying to get my daily 75 grams in!

I opened a brand new container of protein powder only to discover it was half empty. Why, oh why, do they waste packaging like this?

Ridiculous.

D

The hubs texted me early in the afternoon to ask me on a date. We decided on Downriver Grill.

I ordered the portobello sandwich with brie (don’t worry, it’s pasteurized), tomato, red pepper relish and arugula-basil pesto.

On the side was a salad with my favorite lemon feta avocado vinagarette…

and a few fries snagged from the hubs.

Some dark chocolate will most likely enter my life sometime tonight, too.

What is your favorite protein filled snack?

10 thoughts on “WIAW, Spring Break Edition

  1. It is tough figuring out what to eat! ….I’m a HUGE eater of greek yogurt to get in some protein, nutritional yeast on salads, edamame for a dinner veggie, and fish.
    If you come across anything great, let me know. I’d love to hear! 🙂 Hope you’re doing GREAT!

    • I’ve been slamming a protein shake every morning before work, eating oatmeal on my morning prep (with nuts and chia seeds), adding a Greek yogurt to lunch (depending on how hungry I am) or eating it as an afternoon snack and a second snack of a balance or luna protein bar. This usually puts me around 60g and then I just need an additional 15 at dinner….but I’m trying not to eat so many bars – so much sugar!

  2. I am still so happy you are pregnant! I have been eating gluten free bagels like their going out of style, definitely not preggo though.

    Fave protein filled snack? Meat. I typically only eat meat once per meal, and only about 3-4 days a week. So sometimes, 3pm I will just crave meat like no other.

Leave a Reply

