Sometimes you just need breakfast for dinner

And tonight is one of those nights. Specifically, grits with bacon and eggs. Growing up, grits were my ultimate comfort food. Each time I was sick my mom, who was raised primarily in the south, would whip up a batch of instant grits. Tonight when I set out to whip up a batch I was met with a pantry void of grits. But I did have cornmeal, and milk, and access to the internet. After a few searches I decided to mix up the results and make my own batch of gritty goodness. Hmm, that sounds kinda gross, but the finished product was very tasty.

Easy homemade grits

Serves 4

Nutritionals: Cal: 175, carb: 29g, fat: 4g, pro: 6g, fiber: 5g, sugar: 6g

Ingredients

1 cup coarse ground cornmeal (I used Bob’s Red Mill)

2 cups 2% milk

2 cups water

1 tsp sea salt

Directions

Combine milk and water in a large pot. Bring to a boil and add cornmeal and salt. Wisk to combine. Cover and reduce to low. Cook for 20 minutes, wisking every few minutes to prevent clumping. Serve alone, with butter, or topped eggs and bacon.

What is your favorite way to eat grits?

5 thoughts on “Sometimes you just need breakfast for dinner

  1. With Shrimp.

    Preferably the BBQ version.

    At 82 Queen in Charleston.

    With an herbed biscuit on the side.

Leave a Reply

