Homemade Ginger Ale

Growing up I considered ginger ale a special occasion drink, reserved for plane rides and holidays. And as a grown up, who tries to live a healthy lifestyle, I still consider it a special occasion drink. Or a when I’m sick drink, which isn’t a special occasion, but is as rare as one.

Last month I spent a long weekend in Portland visiting my best friend, Jessica. You may remember my last visit, where I had a whirlwind 36 hour foodie experience. This trip wasn’t much longer, and it also involved many culinary delights.

One favorite was the house made ginger ale at Cassidy’s. We had a late dinner at Cassidy’s Saturday evening, and I was very happy to go again the following night – the ginger ale is out of this world. So, of course, when I returned home I immediately recreated this corn syrup-free drink.

Homemade ginger ale

Ingredients

6 oz fresh ginger (don’t bother peeling)

2 cups filtered water

2 cups granulated sugar

Carbonated water

Directions

In food processor or blender grind ginger until it forms a paste like substance. Meanwhile, mix water and sugar until sugar is dissolved. Pour water/sugar mix and ginger into a medium pot and bring to a boil. Reduce to simmer and leave for an hour to an hour and a half, stirring occasionally. Pour through a strainer and store in the fridge in an air tight container.

When cooled, stir 2-3 tablespoons with carbonated water and enjoy.

What is your favorite “reserved for special occasions” drink?

11 thoughts on “Homemade Ginger Ale

  1. Ginger ale is my favorite carbonated drink!! I am going to try this, for sure. I’ve been juicing, using ginger root; do you know the best storage for it and/or how long it keeps? (BTW, is that ad for Duck Hunt PAID???)

  2. Pingback: WIAW: in Portlandia, Vol. 2 |

  3. My husband LOVES soda (don’t ask me why)… but he does., he rarely asks for anything so for Christmas he asked for one of those soda stream pop makers, not happy to have it in the house, but again, he rarely asks for anything, I bought it for him for Christmas. Can I just say I love it? Now when he has his pop, or our family celebrates anything with a special dinner… I have my homemade carbonated soda (which I am drinking right now) (pure water) with lemons and limes in it and I am happy as a clam. I may just try adding some ginger to that now that you mention it. No sugar of any kind… and it is delicious! yum. love it!

Leave a Reply

