Snow Day Smoothie

I love the blog world – it is chock full of support, encouragement, friendship and great ideas. Recently I stumbled upon Erica’s blog, For the Sake of Cake, and discovered that there is a Trader Joe’s cookbook! How did I not know this?

My fingers quickly traveled to amazon and within a few clicks the I Love Trader Joe’s Cookbook was en route to my house. Today I was blessed with a snow day, which meant I could snuggle up with my heated throw, a large mug of coffee and sift through my new cookbook without a care in the world. Cleaning and lesson plans can wait, thankyouverymuch.

After reading the acknowledgments and introduction (a sign that I really am a food blogger), I began planning my next shopping trip to my favorite destination. Hunger struck about halfway through the delicious looking recipes  and I decided to whip up my own Trader Joe’s creation.

When I visited my friend Veronika last spring I discovered the wonders of Trader Joe’s tart plain non-fat yogurt and how it turns an average smoothie into an epically delicious treat. When our Trader Joe’s finally opened this fall I immediately purchased a container.

Into my magic bullet went the tart yogurt and other Trader Joe’s finds: frozen wild blueberries, half a banana, and a splash of almond milk.

Added to the mix were a few frozen hand-picked strawberries from this summer, a dash of vanilla bean paste, and some spinach* for good measure.

*also from Trader Joe’s

Mmmm, ugly but delicious.

Snow Day Smoothie

Ingredients

1/2 cup Trader Joe’s tart plain nonfat frozen yogurt

1/2 banana

1/4 tsp vanilla bean paste (or vanilla extract)

1/2 cup frozen blueberries

1/2 cup frozen strawberries

1/3 cup almond milk (or other milk of your choice)

1 cup fresh spinach

Directions

In blender, food processor or magic bullet, add all ingredients and blend until you’ve reached the desired consistency. If you’re using a magic bullet, add everything but the spinach and blend, then add the spinach and blend again.

What is your favorite Trader Joe’s staple?

2 thoughts on “Snow Day Smoothie

  1. ANYTHING! I am truly in love with Trader Joe’s but the nearest one is like 6 or 7 hours away. 😦 Pretty sure the frozen foods would not be frozen after that trip 😉 All of their food is just something I can really get behind and feel good about eating.
    *SO* jealous of your snow day! We haven’t even gotten one yet this year and it’s not looking promising for the near future…. and we are all needing one pretty bad. Glad you got your day though! That is awesome!!!!

Leave a Reply

