Egg Quinoa Bowl

I love how versatile quinoa is. Not sure what to do with black beans? Throw them together with salsa, veggies, cheese and quinoa and you’ve got a meal. An extra can of garbanzos  hanging out in your pantry? Mix em with some garlic, zucchini, avocado, nooch* and quinoa and you have another easy meal. The same goes for chicken, Italian sausage and tofu.

*Yeah, I went there. I’m not ashamed.

But one protein source I’ve never mixed with quinoa is the incredible, edible, egg.

via

Until Monday.

I woke up late, enjoyed a leisurely breakfast, pounded out an hour long elliptical run in my home gym while catching up on trashy t.v. and strolled upstairs to stare in my fridge for a solid 5 minutes. Ding, ding, ding went my alarm, alerting me to the fact that the door had been open too long. Then the light went out, forcing me to close the door and re-open. Nothing looked appealing. Nothing.

But then I spotted the eggs. All 22 of them. Clearly I needed to make something egg-centric, and Dutch Babies were sadly not an option.

Enter quinoa.

via

I whipped up a batch of this grainy goodness, and chilled 3/4ths for that night’s meatless Monday dish, and mixed it with the remnants of my veggie drawer. Topped with a drippy egg, goat cheese and hot sauce, this bowl was delicious enough for me to actually say “oh my God” out loud. To myself. Seriously.

Egg Quinoa Bowl

Ingredients

1/2 cup cooked quinoa, any color

1 egg, fried to preferred drippiness

3 sprigs cilantro, washed/chopped

1 cup arugula, washed/chopped

1/8th red bell pepper, diced (or yellow/orange, just not green – ick!)

1 small tomato, diced

2 tbs sweet onion, diced

1 clove garlic, minced

2 TBS crumbled goat cheese (feta or gorgonzola would be a great sub)

1/4 tsp cumin

hot sauce/salt/pepper to taste

Directions

Cook quinoa according to package directions. Meanwhile, chop your veggies and crumble your cheese. Mix veggies with quinoa. Fry egg and add to the top of your quinoa/veggie bowl.

Enjoy!

What is your favorite “eat down the fridge” meal?

Leave a Reply

