Arugula Pesto

Have I professed my love for The Flying Goat’s arugula pesto yet? I think I have…but if not, I FREAKING LOVE ARUGULA PESTO!

After many, many evening spent at the Goat, I’m happy to say I finally got around to making my own arugula pesto. I suppose it took me so long because I knew if I didn’t make it I had to go there to get it, which meant cheesy Centennial Trail bread would be consumed.

I guess I’ll have to re-create that next. I’m not really seeing an issue here.

Arugula Pesto

Inspired by: The Flying Goat

Ingredients

2 very large handfuls of fresh arugula

7 TBS Extra Virgin Olive Oil, divided

1/4 cup water

3/4 cup parmesan asiago blend (regular parmesan would work well too)

1/4 cup pine nuts

1 large shallot, minced

4 garlic cloves, minced

1 tsp sea salt

Directions

In a small pan, heat 1 TBS olive oil and add shallot and garlic. Heat for 30 seconds to 1 minute. This will cut some of the bite, but will still leave the flavor. Skip this step if you like your pesto with extra spice.

In a food processor (or blender) layer arugula, shallot/garlic mixture, salt, pine nuts, parmesan asiago blend, water, and remaining olive oil. Blend until all ingredients are combined. If you like a drippy pesto add more olive oil, a tablespoon at a time, until desired consistency is reached.

Enjoy on sandwiches, pizza or flatbread. Stumped for a pizza dough recipe? How about some herbalicious pizza dough?

4 thoughts on “Arugula Pesto

  1. I love recreating things I am obsessed with! ….The only problem I have run into doing this- I usually end up liking my own more, which is great, but it is kind of a bummer to take the joy out of things I formerly loved. I guess it’s the price I pay for homemade deliciousness 😉 Have a happy Friday!

  2. I love pesto!! This one looks amazing…I def need to give the recipe a try!
    And I just found your blog through Tara’s site. I just spent the last half hour or so combing through your past posts…LOVE your blog! I especially love your pics from your trip through Portland. I am a native Portlander and miss it so much (moved to Denver a year or so ago). The clip from “Portlandia” cracked me up!! “And are the hazelnuts organic as well?” LoL! SOO true!

    XO – Marion

Leave a Reply

