Survey: Holiday Questions

Does Santa wrap presents or just sit them under the tree?

He wraps them. My parents actually still wrap presents from Santa and Mrs. Clause. It makes me smile.

Colored lights on tree/house or white?

Growing up we always had colored lights on our house an went back and forth between colored and white lights on our tree. My mom likes white, and my dad likes colored. As a kid I loved colored, especially the bubble lights!

Our house has white icicle lights, which I love. And our tree now is always white, even though the hubs wants colored lights…I’m a bit like Monica when it comes to tree decorating.

(via)

Do you hang mistletoe?

No…although when I was in college we always did.

What is your favorite holiday dish (excluding dessert)?

Why do I have to exclude dessert?

Hmmm…probably mashed potatoes and gravy. I only make them on Thanksgiving and Christmas.

Favorite Holiday memory as a child?

Every year we would pile in our van with blankets and hot chocolate and drive around to look at lights. There was one house where a guy would dress up as Santa and dance in the mirror while they blasted Christmas music through outdoor speakers. That was my favorite house…although I’m sure his neighbors hated him.

As I got older I no longer enjoyed this tradition, but I want to steal my nieces for a night so I can start this tradition again 🙂

Snow? Love it or dread it?

Dread it! I love looking at it, and watching it fall from the sky. But I hate walking and driving in it. Although I prefer snow to ice on the roads.

Real tree or fake tree?

Real. We’ve always had a real tree, I love their smell. But I can see the benefits to a fake tree – no pine needles, don’t spend $30-$40 each year, the tree always looks perfect…but none top the smell of a real tree 🙂

From ages 4 to 6 we lived across the street from a little old lady who had a fake tree set up in her basement year round. I used to stop by every so often just to look at her tree. Now that I think of it, that is really odd. But I thought it was really cool at the time!

What is your Favorite Christmas Movie?

Hmmm, that is a toughie. I love Home Alone, Elf, Christmas Vacation and Love Actually. I’m currently watching The Holiday, which is quite fun.

What’s the most important thing about Christmas for you?

Spending time with family.

What is your favorite Holiday dessert?

We always make “Baby Jesus Birthday” cake – a white cake with white frosting and a glass nativity set on top…but that isn’t my favorite. My dad’s birthday is December 22nd, and we make his mother’s German Chocolate Cake recipe each year. It is delicious, and I associate it with the holidays.


What tops your tree?

Currently a silver star. It isn’t fancy, or special. I think I got it at World Market or Target. But I’ve been on the hunt for a German glass blown topper like the one on my parent’s tree. My grandma and grandpa lived in Germany (my mom was born there too), and they brought back a beautiful tree topper like this one:

(via)

What is your favorite Christmas Song?

That is a hard one! I love Last Christmas by the Beatles, All I Want for Christmas is You by Mariah Carey, Jingle Bell Rock (Home Alone soundtrack version), and the John Williams version of Carol of Bells (also on the Home Alone soundtrack).

What do you leave for Santa?

Nothing these days. But as a kid we’d leave cookies for santa and carrots for the reindeer.

Do you have a Christmas morning tradition?

We all open one present the night before and save the rest for morning. When we were kids my parents would get a very small tree and we’d keep it in the family room. It was decorated with the kid hand-made ornaments and whatever presents Santa left under it we were allowed to open before our parents woke up (along with our stockings). This helped keep us at bay until around 8 a.m. After my parents woke up we’d rotate around the room as one of us played “Santa” to deliver presents to each person. We also always ate this egg/sausage casserole. We do roughly the same thing now, but there isn’t a small tree 🙂 Maybe when we have kiddos I’ll start that tradition again.

Do you prefer to shop on-line or at the mall?

Online for sure! I’m a huge fan of the Amazon daily deals.

Question: pick your favorite question from the survey and answer in the comments!

6 thoughts on “Survey: Holiday Questions

  1. We do an egg/sausage casserole too! It’s still one of my favorite traditions. Now I’ve tried to make it a bit more sophisticated for grown-up tastes with fancier sausage, gruyere cheese, artisan bread, etc.

  2. Such a great picture!
    I have never in my life had a real tree, we had the same fake one my entire life, and now Chris won’t let me have a real one since our house is a zillion years old with shotty electric, so apparently it’s too much of a fire hazard !

    Merry Christmas Leila!

  3. I love the holiday survey, it’s so much fun I may need to borrow it on my blog 🙂

    I may have broken the rules because you might have too many followers, but I can’t see/find the number of followers and I am crazy rule-breaker like that *head shake* and awarded your blog the Liebster award! I always enjoy your posts on teaching and food – especially the food. You can check out the details here http://nvteach.blogspot.com/2011/12/thank-you.html

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

