Potato Leek Soup

This weeks un-posted meal plan was created as I browsed the Spokane Public Market produce selection on Saturday. I snatched up some rather gorgeous leeks and plump Yukon Gold potatoes, and decided potato leek soup would be the perfect Meatless Monday meal.

Unfortunately, I didn’t have a go-to recipe, as I’ve never actually made potato leek soup. So I looked up a bunch of recipes, borrowed what looked appealing and left behind what didn’t. The result? A ridiculously thick and creamy soup that I can’t wait to make again.

Potato Leek Soup

yields eight cups – six-1 1/3 cup servings

Nutritionals (per 1 1/3 cup serving): 250 cal, 59g carb, 6g fat, 10 g pro, 1 g fiber, 11 g sugar

Ingredients

3 lb yukon gold potatoes, peeled and diced in 1/2 inch chunks

1 medium sweet onion, diced

2 large leeks, diced (thoroughly rinsed)

1 TBS flour

2 TBS unsalted butter

2 1/2 cups chicken broth

1 12-oz can evaporated fat free milk

1/2 tsp finely ground black pepper

1/2 tsp oregano

1/2 tsp thyme

dash marjoram

salt to taste

Directions

In large pot, heat butter over medium heat. Add flour and stir to combine. Once combined, add oregano, thyme, marjoram and pepper, stirring to combine. Add onions and leeks, stirring well. Reduce heat to medium-low and sautee for 7-10 minutes. Do not brown leeks!

Once onions and leeks are translucent, add chicken broth, evaporated fat free milk and potatoes. Turn up heat to high, bring to a boil, reduce heat back to medium-low and cover. Keep soup simmering for 20 minutes. Turn off heat and either use an immersion blender, or spoon soup into a food processor or blender (in batches), and blend until smooth.

I enjoyed my bowl with apple wood smoked bacon, and I think you should to.

What is your favorite potato: Yukon gold, red, fingerling, russet, or another?

I’m a huge red potato fan, but this summer I experienced a blue potato from the farmer’s market that made me squeal with delight.

11 thoughts on “Potato Leek Soup

  1. Meatless? Cough… chicken broth … cough… bacon… cough cough…

    ahem, I seem to have a bacon & chicken broth tickle in my throat 😉

  2. Pingback: Get real [WIAW] |

Leave a Reply

