if it ain’t broke…[WIAW]

don’t fix it. I don’t know about you, but once pumpkin season rolls around, I can eat this breakfast every morning.

So I’m not going to bother taking another pumpkin pie oat situation unless the lighting gets better.

I assume those of you participating in What I ate Wednesday are completely fine with recycled photos.

Lunch was leftover Bob’s Red Mill Vegi soup*

topped with Buffalo Mozzarella and a delicious honeycrisp.

*I did a google image search because I forgot my camera today…and wound up with one of my own images.

Snacks included a peppermint stick Luna bar,

and some pumpkin banana bread.*

*I use 1 cup pumpkin, instead of 1/2 a cup. I’ve tried it both ways and prefer the extra pumpkin.

Shockingly, I left work at a reasonable time today. It was before 5! I haven’t left before 5 all school year. But tomorrow my kidlets are doing an all day writing assessment, so I didn’t have to prep anything. I didn’t know what to do with all the extra time on my hands, so I decided I would scratch the leftover plans, and instead whip up some portabella burgers. I followed this recipe, except I used provolone (inside the caps, rather than on top) and I added avocado and carmelized onions.

It was legen, wait for it, dary.

On the side I had a salad with dried cherries, pepitas and some homemade honey shallot dressing.

Now I’m catching up on last season’s How I Met Your Mother, and nibbling on some Lindt truffles.

What is your favorite portabella sandwich recipe?

6 thoughts on “if it ain’t broke…[WIAW]

    • It is very bland on its own. I saute onion and garlic in the pot for a few minutes, then I add the soup mix, water, Italian seasoning, black pepper and 1-2 bullion cubes. Sometimes I throw in some cayanne pepper. But they are quick and easy add-ons, and the soup is very hearty/filling. Perfect for fall and winter lazy nights 🙂

Leave a Reply

