Semi-homemade croutons

I’m not a crouton fan. There is just something about dry, crusty bread on my bed of greens that just doesn’t appeal to me. The hubs, however, loves croutons. I always request no croutons on my dining out salads, but they generally still manage to sneak their way in my bowls. I always offer them up to the hubs, who eagerly takes my extras.

Then one day I decided to give the homemade croutons at The Flying Goat a taste, and was pleasantly surprised at their flavor. I decided I should give making my own croutons a whirl, but then I quickly forgot about the idea. That is, until last night.

Sunday evening we had a loaf of sourdough bread to accompany our baked spaghetti squash casserole. I accidentally left the extra bread on the counter all night, and Monday evening it was pretty hard. I remembered my once-forgotten quest to make homemade croutons, so I pre-heated my oven, sliced them up, and let my oven do the majority of the work.

Semi- Homemade Croutons

Ingredients

1/2 a loaf of day-old bread (I prefer sourdough, but any bakery bread will do)

2 TBS-4 TBS extra virgin olive oil

1/8 tsp pepper

1/8 tsp salt

1/8 tsp seasoning of choice (I used Italian Seasoning)

Directions

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

Dice bread into 1/2 inch chunks. In a medium size bowl, mix olive oil, pepper, salt and seasoning. Add bread to the bowl and mix by hand, coating evenly.

Bake on an aluminum foil lined cookie sheet for 20 minutes.

Serve atop salad, French onion soup, or dip in fondue.


2 thoughts on “Semi-homemade croutons

Leave a Reply

