why I shouldn’t go to Costco hungry

All day I thought today was Thursday. I was sorely disappointed when I realized tomorrow is not Friday. But since it is, in fact, Wednesday, I can join the linky party Jenn is so gracious to host every week.

These are actually Monday’s eats, but they are eerily similar to today’s eats.

Pre-workout snack (as well as post-work snack, I have a problem, I know.)

Some j-hole was behind me in Costco and snickered as I picked up my Cliff Kid Z Bar box, commenting that “no kid would ever eat that.” Ummm, yes they would. If you don’t stuff them with McDonalds and sugary confections they will actually enjoy food made out of real ingredients. Plus, they aren’t for a kid. They are for me. I am a kid at heart, and I love them. Just sayin’

Breakfast

Creamy buckwheat with pumpkin, brown sugar, cinnamon, raisins, pecans, chia seeds and vanilla almond milk.

Snacks

apple from my parents orchard, celery + hummus

and a pineapple 2% chobani

Dinner

curried split pea soup topped with cilantro and Fage non-fat Greek yogurt

scallion potato bread


Late night snack, aka why you don’t go to Costco while hungry – I walked out with two very large containers of Nutella, woops

Saltines topped with Nutella

Yep, saltines with nutella. No, I’m not pregnant. I love pretzels with nutella, but I didn’t have any of the twisty treats on hand.* However, at Christmas, a family friend gave us some saltine toffee treats that I ate in about 5 seconds. They were amazingly delicious. I thought perhaps saltines with Nutella would be a good substitute. Mmmmm, not so much. But oh well, I still ate a few spoonfuls of the good stuff, so I’m a happy camper.

*Damn, I should have gotten those at Costco.

What have you purchased lately out of hunger impulse?

9 thoughts on “why I shouldn’t go to Costco hungry

  1. i literally buy food at work almost every shift. i get so hungry and i stand next to the bakery while being a cashier for people’s groceries. it’s actually impossible not to develop cravings that MUST be instantly fulfilled.

  2. Cost co’s really knows how to get you when your hungry. Esp with all their samples. I always eat or have a snack before I go in. Or I bring a water bottle and anytime I see something I want but don’t need I chug some water.

  3. Holy guacamole! I buy the giant kids cliff bar box from Costco as well. Everyone always makes fun of me because they are for “kids”…. Heck no! Those things are so good! I like the chocolate chip one the best. 😉
    Whenever I go to Costco hungry I eat all the samples. Oops! 🙂

  4. I’m slightly appalled by the comment from the person in Costco regarding the Clif Z Bars! They are a great and yummy snack…not just for kids, but for us too like you mentioned. When I don’t want a whole regular Clif bar, those Z bars are the perfect size and taste delish — S’mores is one of my faves!

Leave a Reply

