Food fear: nutritional yeast

I have some food phobias. I know they aren’t healthy, and I know they aren’t rational, and I know they aren’t based on past experiences. There are just random foods I assume I won’t like, and therefore never try. I feel lots of shame even admitting this, as I pride myself on being an adventurous foodie.

However, I am acting like my four-year-old nephew who is convinced he doesn’t like bacon. Bacon. A four-year-old boy who doesn’t like bacon.

What? Yeah, we aren’t sure he’s related to the hubs either.

Regardless, his fear isn’t rooted in anything, as he hasn’t actually tried bacon. And just like my nephew, I am afraid of a few foods I haven’t eaten. Last week I conquered one of my food fears: nutritional yeast.

(source)

Maybe it was something about the powdery consistency. Maybe it was the pale, not quite yellow, not quite mustard, not quite crayola flesh, color. Maybe it was the fact that Vegans all over were trying to convince me* that it was a cheese substitute. I’m not really sure where the food fear was planted, but it grew roots and didn’t budge.

*not really, but cheese is often subbed with nutritional yeast in vegan recipes

 

 

But last week was different. I noticed that kale had taken over my backyard, and I needed to do something about it. I would normally whip up a batch of kale chips, but the 90+ temps kept me from turning on my oven. I scoured my favorite blogs, and settled on Mama Pea’s Sunshine in a Bowl. If you follow me on twitter you already know the outcome.

And when I planned my meal plan for this week, I decided to throw a nutritional yeast topped recipe into the line up. Tonight I tackled Chelsey’s “Cheesy” Chickpea Quinoa and Spinach.

And again, win!

I made a few modifications, including:

  • chopping my spinach and adding it to the pot at the same time I added my chickpeas
  • added 2~ cups shredded zucchini
  • added 1 tsp cumin
  • added diced avocado
  • topped with (unpictured) salsa

And you know what? I’m glad I purchased two large spoonfuls from the bulk bin at Huckleberries. My food fear is cured, and I’m on the hunt for more recipes that include nutritional yeast!

Have you tried nutritional yeast? If yes, what do you eat it with?

6 thoughts on “Food fear: nutritional yeast

Leave a Reply

