Just around the corner

Tomorrow is the first day of school. I’m not sure who is more excited, my students or me. I’m also not sure who is more nervous 😉

I found this cute poem online, and had to share:

‘Twas the Night before School
‘Twas the night before school started when all through the town
The parents were cheering
It was a riotous sound
By eight the kids were washed
and tucked into bed
When memories of homework
Filled them with dread
New pencils, new folders, new
notebooks, too
New teachers, new friends-their
anxiety grew
The parents just giggled when they
learned of this fright
And shouted upstairs-
GO TO BED-IT’S A SCHOOL NIGHT!

source

I spent the morning prepping meals for the week, including baking egg muffins, rolling out and freezing my favorite pizza dough, and whipping up a batch of homemade salad dressing.

I also prepped everything (I think!) for tomorrow, including my first day of school outfit. Yes, even the teachers need a new outfit for the first day of school. I can’t find a picture online of the dress I purchased, but I did find one of an outfit I definitely did not choose.

(source)

I am all for a deal, and $4.99 isn’t too shabby for a t-shirt. At least music is a subject. I also didn’t pick up this little number.

(source)

I think you can understand why not. Read the Jezebel article for a much more eloquent way of stating how I feel about this shirt and the message it sends.

And in an effort to leave on a positive note, I started meal planning again. It is Monday afterall, which means it is time for another round of Meal Plan Monday. In case you lost count, I think this is only the 3rd or 4th in this pathetic attempt of a series. But now that I’m going to be working ’round the clock,  I need to get back into the work-week routine.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Meal Plan Monday – Back to School Edition

Monday, September 5

Crock pot Santa Fe chicken atop brown rice spiked with key lime juice and sprinkled with cheddar

Tuesday, September 6

Anniversary dinner! The hubs has been instructed to pick up something, as I am going to be too tired to go out to eat.

Wednesday, September 7

Ravioli, salad and zucchini carpaccio 

Thursday, September 8

Cheesey quinoa and chickpeas

Friday, September 8

Leftovers

Saturday, September 9

Chicken & white bean stuffed peppers

Sunday, September 10

Looking for something to throw in the crock pot. I have ground turkey, ground beef and chicken thighs…suggestions?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What is your favorite first day of school memory?


8 thoughts on “Just around the corner

  1. I love seeing the excitement in the kids’ faces. Most are so happy to be back at school with friends and a new teacher! Even though it’s exhausting, it’s such a fun and exciting day. Enjoy!!!

  2. Pingback: Food fear: nutritional yeast |

Leave a Reply

