Starbucks Faux-ccino

I love coffee. Iced, hot, blended, it doesn’t matter. I prefer local shops to big chains, but sometimes the green Siren calls to me. It might have something to do with the $2 treat receipts, or the fact that I know exactly what I am getting, no matter where I am.

On a hot afternoon I am often drawn to a Frappuccino.

(source)

But I don’t like the $4.50 price point. And even if I am using my $2 treat receipt, I still have to spend about $4 before two p.m. just to get this frozen goodie. While I don’t mind spending a few bucks at the bux when I have a gift card, I do mind when its my own money.

A week from tomorrow is my first day of school (!!), and Thursday is my first official day back, (staff mtgs/Open House). I used to pass a few coffee shops, and two Bux’s, on my way to work, providing multiple opportunities to waste money. But my new route only takes me 5 minutes by foot, where I only pass a church and a hardware store.

So I got creative.

I’ve been making coffee ice cube for years. They are very simple to make: brew a pot of strong coffee, fill ice cube trays, freeze, pop out and store in a gallon sized freezer bag.

Easy, eh?

They are perfect for iced coffee and coffee protein shakes, aka Faux-ccino’s.

Faux-bux Vanilla Faux-ccino

Serves 1

Nutritionals: Cal: 129, Carb: 11g, Pro: 11g, Fat: 4g, Fiber: 1g, Sugar: 9g

Ingredients

1 cup Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk (or regular, or soy milk)

1 TBS instant coffee (I used Foldgers)

1/2 scoop GNC vanilla whey protein powder (or protein powder of your choosing)

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

10 coffee ice cubes

1.5 tsp granulated sugar

Directions

Throw all ingredients in blender. Blend.

Enjoy, preferably with a siphoned straw from the bux.

(See book club girls, there IS a reason to have a straw in your purse at all times!)

4 thoughts on “Starbucks Faux-ccino

Leave a Reply

