WIAW, Portlandia style

It’s another traveling edition of WIAW!

 

My (seriously long) road trip route during the first two weeks of August had a brief pit stop in Portland, OR.

(source)

While there, the hubs and I spent a whirlwind 36 hours touring the cities breweries and restaurants.

My best friend Jessica served as our tour guide.

Our first destination was Deschutes Brewery, located in the Pearl District. Jess is a server there, so we wanted to see her when we arrived after an 11 hour journey from Napa, CA.

Portabella sandwich w/arugula, some sort of cheese and sweet potato fries on the side
(for some reason, this isn’t on their online menu, so I have no idea what the cheese is. But on closer inspection, I realize I totally missed the Beer-a-Misu, which is a real shame because I love Obsidian Stout, and Tiramisu is my fav dessert).

On our way back to our hotel, we swung by the famous Voodoo Doughnut, to pick up some sugar energy to hoof it across the bridge.

I selected the Berry Miami Vice.

It was insanely delicious. And calories don’t count after Midnight, right?

The next morning, Jessica took us to Tasty n Sons, an organic and seasonal restaurant that serves brunch every morning of the week. We started off with Erin’s Sweet Biscuits with fresh berries.

Happiness on a plate.

Jess and I each ordered the Moroccan Chicken Hash with Harissa Cream and an over easy egg.

I ate the entire thing. I refrained from licking my plate, even though I wanted to.

After a touristy stop at the International Rose Test Garden,

we hit HUB (Hopworks Urban Brewery) to taste some brews.

I recommend the Survival Stout.

Then we ventured to Laurelwood Brewery, where we were able to take a tour and learn all about the beer making process. The hubs is a home-brewer, so he already knew a lot of the information, but it was all new to me! Jess is friends with the beer chemist, (fun job, eh?), and he let us add the hops!

Which I thought was really cool, until I realized we were just doing his job for him ๐Ÿ˜‰

While at Laurelwood, we decided to split their chickpea fries, (which I plan to recreate asap), with tzatziki sauce and some sort of spicy aoili.

Again, not on their online menu, so I can’t give specifics. What is it with my choices not being on online menus?

On the walk to our next location, I spotted this awesome advertisement.

That location was the Hair of the Dog Brewery, a few blocks from our hotel. This was, hands down, my favorite beer of the day. Jess and I split some nibbles.

Sidenote, how cute are their tasting glasses? We split 4 of these little guys.

Caprese Salad

Who goes to a bar and orders only veggies? This girl.

Roasted Brussel Sprouts

Unfortunately, it is very difficult to find their beer outside of the brewery itself, as they have a limited bottle production. I highly suggest you stop by for a beer and a bite the next time you’re in Portland.

And finally, a little dinner was necessary. A few blocks down the road we found Bunc Sandwiches, a bar serving up amazingly delicious sandwiches.

I ordered the roast beef with horseradish, caramelized onions and cheddar, and a side of summer squash soup instead of the kettle chips.

Holy yum.

I’m still dreaming about that sandwich.

We rolled our full bellies back to our hotel, and were luckily not hit by a biker.

I’m already planning my next trip to Portland, where the dream of the 90’s is still alive.

Have you ever been to Portland? If yes, what is your “must-do” while there?

As a kid, my favorite thing to do was to visit OMSI. But as an adult, my favorite thing to do is to EAT! Portland is home to fabulous restaurants and food trucks ๐Ÿ™‚

9 thoughts on “WIAW, Portlandia style

  1. Yayyy Portland, my city ๐Ÿ™‚ Tasty n Sons is my favourite brunch spot and their Moroccan chicken hash is out of this world! They also have delicious frittatas! Looks like you got to savour some of the many PDX culinary specialties

    • So, funnily enough, I thought of you while standing in line for Voodoo. The entire time I was in Portland I kept thinking “Sarah needs to visit Portland,” it has everything you love including food trucks and menus on chalk boards.
      And thanks on the dress ๐Ÿ™‚ We made a side trip to a bar for the hubs to watch the pre-season Chargers game, and another girl there was wearing it. We had a run-in in the bathroom. It was slightly awkward, haha. But I got it at Ross – looooove Ross.

  2. Pingback: Goodbye twenty-eleven |

  3. Pingback: Homemade Ginger Ale |

Leave a Reply

