How pinteresting, Kale and Quinoa Salad

First, I am utterly addicted to Pinterest. I’ve been pinning food, style and classroom ideas like a mad woman. You can follow me here.

Second, I have yet another quinoa recipe to share with y’all. Lately I have been on a major quinoa kick. I need to be on a kale kick too, as it is taking over our garden.

In my opinion, quinoa salads are perfect for both lunch and dinner parties. So when the hubs and I were invited to our buddy Nate’s birthday potluck, I knew a quinoa creation*  was in my future.

*I’m counting that as alliteration

Kale and Quinoa Salad


Ingredients

1 cup dry quinoa, rinsed

2 cups water

10 kale leaves, stems removed (or half a bunch)

1/4 cup sundried tomatoes, not packed in oil (if packed in oil, rinse/dry)

5 oz fresh mozzarella, chunked or shredded

1 extra small sweet onion, diced (or half a medium sized onion)

10 basil leaves, chiffonade

3 TBS lemon juice

3 TBS olive oil

1 TBS stone ground mustard

1 tsp prepared horseradish

2 tsp fresh oregano, diced (or 1/2 tsp dried)

3 garlic cloves, minced

s&p to taste

Directions

In a medium sized pot, bring water and quinoa to a boil, cover with lid, reduce to simmer, 15 minutes.

Meanwhile, remove kale from stems and shred. Mix with  sundried tomatoes and add to cooked quinoa. Let sit at least 10 minutes (to wilt the kale). Place in fridge to cool.

Once quinoa, tomato and kale has cooled, add onion, basil and mozzarella.

Mix dressing ingredients (lemon juice, olive oil, mustard, horseradish, garlic, salt and pepper), add to quinoa mixture, stir well.

Serve cold.

Enjoy! (Especially you, Joy Jones!)

Leave a Reply

