I’m not horsing around [red] quinoa salad

I love quinoa: hot, cold, mixed with veggies, cheese, fruit, nuts, you name it, I’ll eat it. I always buy a big bulk bag at Costco, but I’ve never seen red quinoa in any local grocery stores. But after an extensive search yielded no results, I gave up on eating homemade red quinoa. Then this weekend I stopped in a grocery store* north of Spokane and found red quinoa in their bulk bins. Score!

*Yoke’s in Mead for you Spokane folks

After debating my options, I decided I would clear out the veggie drawer and create yet another cold quinoa salad. I decided to change up my usual sauce, and swapped stone ground mustard for horseradish. It was a brilliant idea, at least in my opinion. The hubs wasn’t pleased, but he lacks the horseradish obsession that I have.

I’m not horsing around [red] quinoa salad

Serves 6 (main dish) or 10 (side dish)

Ingredients

1 cup dry red quinoa, rinsed

1/2 medium sweet onion, diced

1/2 red, yellow or orange bell pepper, diced

1/2 English cucumber, peeled and diced

2 medium tomatoes, diced

1 can black beans, rinsed/drained

3 oz goat cheese, crumbled into chunks

3 TBS lemon juice

3 TBS EVOO

3 garlic cloves, minced

2 TBS prepared hot horseradish

1/4 tsp black pepper

1 tsp oregano

salt to taste

Directions

In a pot, bring quinoa and 2 cups water to a boil. Cover, reduce to simmer, 15 minutes. Remove from heat, keep covered, and wait 5 minutes. Place in fridge to cool.

Meanwhile mix your dressing: lemon juice, olive oil, garlic, horseradish, pepper, oregano and salt. Wisk well.

Throw remaining ingredients in with the chilled quinoa and add dressing. Mix well. Serve as a main or side dish.

p.s. you know you’re a food blogger when you take your dish outside and place it on your entry mat, just so you get the best lighting…

What is your favorite dish that includes red quinoa?

4 thoughts on “I’m not horsing around [red] quinoa salad

Leave a Reply

