What is black, white and red [quinoa] all over? WIAW!

Nope, not a newspaper. It is today’s WIAW! As a result of pure laziness multiple reasons, I missed last week’s link up party. But, have no fear bloggettes, I’m back with beautifully creative dishes to tempt your taste buds.

Breakfast: red quinoa (cooked with water and chilled in the fridge) mixed with chia seeds, dried cherries, pepitas, cinnamon, and topped with vanilla almond milk.

Snack: self-picked cherries!

Lunch: I’m not horsing around red quinoa salad (recipe tomorrow!)

Snack: Fage 0% with cherry & pomegranate  – my new favorite flavor combination.

Snack: carrots and sugar snap peas from our garden w/trader joe’s hummus.

Dinner: Flank steak wrapped with provolone cheese and fresh basil from our garden. I always see versions of this at the grocery store, and want to purchase them. But I never have. Sunday, the hubs agreed to do an at-home version for me, and I liked it so much I requested he make it again during the work week.

Do you notice the white rocking chair in the background? I saw it on Saturday evening as I was driving by a garage sale. I debated for 5 seconds if I should stop, quickly determined it would be a brilliant addition to my classroom, and pulled over. A few minutes of bum-testing and haggling later, I walked away with the perfect reading nook chair.

Oh, yes, I never update y’all. I few months back I mentioned I had been laid off, along with a slew of other people in my district. The last day of school we were notified that all certificated employees would be recalled (yay!). However, every teacher in the district was subject to possible involuntary transfer. I spent the next month in limbo, knowing I would have a job, but was unsure what I would be doing. Last week I received my official placement. I wanted to wait until I had the opportunity to meet with my new principal, get curriculum materials, etc. before I announced my placement…

What do you think I’ll be doing?

(source)

This school year I will be a fourth grade* teacher! I am thrilled about my placement – a mere .21 miles from my house! (Yep, total nerd alert, I tracked it with my Garmin). I feel like I won the layoff/recall lottery! I knew I had little chance of returning to my school, (as all elementary schools had their library hours cut, and more senior librarians were offered the remaining full-time middle and high school positions). So even though I am very sad to leave a position and a school I loved so much, I am so excited to get back into the classroom!

(source) *I have a K-8 Certification

What is your favorite memory of fourth grade?

My favorite memory is my teacher, Mr. Showers. He was a great story teller. I remember a story he told the class about his friend who went on an African safari and had an elephant sit on his car. I have no idea if the story is true, but I still remember finding it hilarious.

15 thoughts on “What is black, white and red [quinoa] all over? WIAW!

  1. Just came across your blog from peas and crayons, can’t wait to take a look around. I wanted to say congrats on the job. I too work in the public school system (Louisiana) as a speech therapist. I too had to make a school change this year as well. So here is to our new schools and having a job. We public school peeps have to stick together!

  2. How exciting!! I loved fourth grade. My fourth grade teacher was an amazing woman, and I felt this was the year that I started learning things that stuck with me throughout the years.

    Totally stoked on your quinoa recipe!

  3. Congratulations! This means you can walk to school, uphill both ways, in five feet of snow right?

    I remember my fourth grade teacher was one hardcore educator. She was very serious. I was terrified of doing the required one-on-one multiplication flash card sessions with her every week.

  4. That steak looks AMAZING! And congrats on getting awesome placement 🙂 I quit my job exactly a year ago and it’s been a hard year. I know how it felt during the few months you were unemployed!

  5. LOVE THIS! I will be making this very soon! Horseradish! Genius!!!

    PS I take my food outside to take pictures all the time because of the sunlight…I am also known to put my plate or bowl on the back of my couch at breakfast time to catch the morning rays….Which is why I have smoothie on my white curtains…I don’t want to talk about it 😉

  6. My best friend’s mom was a 4th grade teacher for 30 years!! She absolutely loved it!

    I remember A LOT of story time in 4th grade. My teacher read us many of the OZ books. I also remember a lot of craft time (my favorite!!).

    I am so excited for you!

  7. Pingback: Goodbye twenty-eleven |

Leave a Reply

