Spokane Indians 8K Pennant Run Recap

Hi bloggettes, I’ve been MIA for a week now, sorry about that! The past few weeks have been full of changes, (all good, no worries), and I haven’t had the time or energy to blog. I thought I might muster up the energy to get a WIAW post, but I was wrong. So instead I’ll bring you a race recap instead 🙂

Last Saturday I was browsing The Inlander and ran across an add for the Spokane Indians Pennant Run (8K) benefiting the Ronald McDonald House. For $30 you receive a technical t-shirt, a $7 donation to the Ronald McDonald house, a ticket to a Spokane Indians game and a beautiful run along the Centennial Trail in downtown Spokane. Great deal!

(source)

Unfortunately, I saw the add the day after the registration closed, so I had to pay an additional $5, and I won’t be able to pick up my race shirt for a week and a half. But I’m not too worried about that, it just means I have to travel to the Valley, which means a pit stop at Nordstrom Rack is in order.

(source)

After seeing the ad, and after googling the conversion of 8K to miles (4.92 in case you’re wondering), I texted my friend, Kyndra, to see if she would be interested. She was, and we “trained” for the next week. AKA, I went to Physical Therapy for my knee injury, post Half Marathon, and discovered I strained my IT band (more on that fun later). Therefore, I ran 2 miles one day and 3 miles another.

After arriving downtown at 7:15, with the hubs parking pass in hand, we discovered his garage was locked and we couldn’t park there. We also had no quarters for parking meters. Woops. We had to hit up 2 Starbucks to swap dollars for quarters from their tip jar (apparently they can’t open the register without a cash transaction), and find a 3 hour meter. We finally arrived at the race packet pick up tent at 7:52, grabbed our stuff, and had to run back to the car (about 3/4 mile away) to stash our stuff. Luckily, the internet was wrong about the starting time (it said 8, actual race started at 8:30), so we arrived back at the starting point with enough time to stretch.

After the Little Sluggers Dash (50 yard dash with the Spokane Indians mascot for kids 3 and under), and the 1K Kids Run (again, running with the mascot, poor guy), it was time to start our 8K.

The course started near the Carousel in downtown Spokane, and followed the Centennial Trail through Riverfront Park, along the South side of Gonzaga’s campus, around Mission Park, and back. It is actually the same course I ran 2-4 days a week during undergrad, so a wave of nostalgia passed over me as I ran. 🙂

(source)

The course was rather flat, except for a slightly steep overpass walking bridge (not pictured above!). I was very impressed with myself, as I ran the entire race (except for 2 30-second walk  breaks on the bridge). I finished in 50 minutes 32 seconds, with an average pace of 10 minutes 22 seconds per mile. I usually average 11-12 minute miles, so this was a PR for me!

If you’re thinking of running this race next year, two things you should know: there are 2 water stations (which double to 4, because you run by them twice on the loop), and you don’t get a timing chip. I wore my Garmin, but I spaced on pushing start until about 30 seconds in, and forgot to push stop until 30 seconds after. Woops.

But, it was a really fun small run, and great for the entire family. People were running with strollers, with their kids and with their dogs! It wasn’t a competitive race, like Bloomsday or Fueled by Fine Wine, which as a nice change of pace. Plus, you get to run along the Spokane River for half of the race – gorgeous!



2 thoughts on “Spokane Indians 8K Pennant Run Recap

  1. It’s crazy, but I was there too! And my finish time was 50 minutes and some seconds. And now that I see the pictures of you, I know I saw you there, but didn’t even put it together until now! Ha! Anyway, great job on this run! I did it last year for the first time and I think it will be an annual thing for me. I like the laid back feeling of it. I’m curious to see the official results and the total runner count! We saw the winner at the Indians game tonight. His time was 25 minutes and some seconds. His prize was a bat! Seriously? I feel like he should get something more.

  2. Pingback: MPM, maybe |

Leave a Reply

