An ode to the Arrested Developement

Recently someone stumbled upon my blog by googling arrested development chicken instructions. This isn’t the first time this phrase has lead to my blog, and I’m sure it won’t be the last.

So I thought, why not throw that image up again? Someone clearly wants to see it.

If you know me in real life, you know I have a slight obsession with Arrested Development. I started watching the show during it’s first season, and was immediately intrigued by the lack of a laugh track, the wit and my fondness for characters I would despise if I met them in real life. I even did a presentation on the show for my Communications and Media course.

Arrested Development Season 1(source)

After graduating from college, I landed a job in the promotions department for the local FOX affiliate. Arrested Development was now in its third season, somehow missing the first season kiss of death FOX is notorious for. However, the show had been moved too many times, both in days and time slots, and it was clear from my first day in November 2005 that the show would not be renewed for a fourth season.

(source)

Even though I was a lowly assistant, I tried with all my might to convince the staff at FOX headquarters to renew the show. I signed the Save Our Bluths Campaign petition, searched for and found 3-D glasses to watch the much anticipated (at least for me) 3-D episode, and begged and pleaded with my rep to no avail.

(source)

What’s a girl to do? Clearly, the imitating a chicken is a good option.

But be careful not to reenact any of the chicken options while near a campfire. Not that I almost fell in one while doing that exact thing or anything. I just think you might want to take some precautionary measures when choosing the time and place to perform chicken imitations.

(source)

While imitating a chicken you might be compelled to cook some chicken. If this is the case, might I suggest an apron:

(source)
(source)
(source) p.s. check out Sarah’s cornballer inspired recipe here.

Or perhaps a coffee cup to enjoy a cuppa’joe while you watch re-runs on lazy Saturday mornings and reminesce:

(source)

And in case you need to make a phone call, or look up more Arrested Development chicken impersonations, pick yourself up an iPhone 4 cover.

Arrested Development phone cover(source)

But whatever you do, please pull up your Netflix account and place all three seasons in your queue immediately. You’ll thank me when the Arrested Development movie debuts.

(source)

What is your favorite comedy from days past?

4 thoughts on “An ode to the Arrested Developement

Leave a Reply

