How To: Roast Bell Peppers

Summer makes me happy. Salads in the summer make me extra happy, because all of my favorite produce goodies are in season and taste delicious. Unfortunately, one of my favorite salad toppings requires me to turn on the oven and heat up the house. I’ve heard you can roast your peppers on the grill and get the same effect, but then they would be called grilled bell peppers, now wouldn’t they?

My summer method of roasting is still the oven, as I don’t actually know how to operate our grill, but if you make a big batch on the coolest morning of the week, you should be fine. Also, you can roast any color you like. I don’t know why red bell peppers get all the fame, the yellow and orange ones taste even better! But, please, do not attempt roasting green bell peppers. You might think you can redeem them and extract even a little bit of taste out of them, but you can’t. Green bell peppers need to be given a new name. Like vapid peppers or tasteless green orby things. Either will work.

Roasted [Red, Yellow, Orange] Bell Peppers

Ingredients

1 bell pepper (or as many as you would like to roast)

1-3 tsp olive oil or olive oil spray in misto

dash sea salt

Directions

Pre-heat (pre-broil?) your oven to Broil. If you have the option of a Lo or a High broil, select High. Split bell pepper in half, lengthwise. Alternately, you could split the bell pepper in quarters, which will result in more evenly blackened skin, which will be easier to remove. But I’m lazy, and I don’t care if it takes me a little more elbow grease to remove the skin. My biceps could use the extra work out.

Remove innards, rinse and dry. Place bell pepper halves on an oiled cookie sheet. Spray bell pepper halves liberally with your olive oil misto, or douse with the olive oil bottle and sprinkle with a little sea salt.

Place bell pepper(s) in the oven, and let ’em sit there a long time. You want these babies to be black, black, black. If you think you’re done, wait 5-10 minutes longer, and remove from the oven.

Place the bell pepper(s) in a ziploc bag and seal. Let sit at least 15 minutes.

Once your pepper(s) has cooled, remove from the bag and remove skin with your fingers. The blackened skin will fall off easily. Slice up the flesh of your bell pepper(s) and apply to salads, sandwiches, pizzas or whatever your heart desires.

I re-use the same ziploc I let the bell pepper(s) sweat in to store them. I slice ’em and dice ’em, and they keep about a week. If you pour olive oil over them they will last approximately 3 weeks. You can always rinse the olive oil off when you’re ready to eat, and the flavor won’t change.

Hey look, a recycled photo from when I did daily meal recaps. Similar to WIAW, but I did them every day…I got bored of doing that daily, but at least it encouraged me to eat different things on a daily basis.

 

What is your favorite dish involving roasted bell peppers?

My favorite way is atop a bed of spinach and arugula with some Walla Walla sweet onions, cherry flavored craisins (or dried cherries if I have them), goat cheese (feta will do in a pinch) and my homemade shallot/honey/mustard dressing. Mmmmm, heaven.

2 thoughts on “How To: Roast Bell Peppers

  1. Very nice post. Also a great addition is to do a bunch on the grill, follow your instructions and pack in an old jam jar with olive oil.

    SW creamed corn with peppers and chiles is one of my faves.

  2. Oh how I LOVE roasted peppers…I’m so lazy though, so I am impressed by your efforts. 🙂 One of my favorite recipes is a Cooking Light tri-pepper salad (I’ve made it on the blog before I think) that I chose simply because you “roast” the peppers but don’t have to skin them! [It is DELICIOUS though. See if you can find it….or ask me, and I’ll find it for you later.]

Leave a Reply

