Chicken Asparagus Quinoa Salad

The last week of school is upon us, which means I am walking around like this:

(source)
p.s. googling running around like a chicken with head chopped off leads to some rather unpleasant results.

I’m desperately trying to organize and clean the library for next year, take inventory (of more than 10,000 books), track down missing books/supplies, remove everything from the walls, and, oh, do my job. Just writing it down made me exhausted.

On Sunday evening I attempted to organize my life. And then the hubs walked in the house and told me we needed to head to the hospital. Somebody blew out his knee playing softball.

I didn’t believe him.

You see, he did the exact same thing 5 years ago. He swung, his body pivoted, his knee did not, and he hit a home run. He hasn’t really played since. So I fully expected him to walk into the kitchen and make some joke about how he needed to go to the ER.

Unfortunately he wasn’t joking. We got home at 11:15 p.m. Sunday night, and none of my to-do items were checked off my work week list. Fortunately, I spent a little time over the weekend pre-writing some posts. Unfortunately, I had McDonalds for dinner and woke up Monday feeling rather crappy.

But the end is in sight. Thursday is the last day of school, and directly after dismissal I am heading out of town to attend a bankruptcy conference with the hubs.

(source)

Scratch that, I will be enjoying some down time at the Sun Mountain Lodge, and the hubs will be attending the conference. I’m looking forward to my long training run in the mountains, lots of reading, sleeping, and coffee drinking in robes from mugs! (not to-go cups!)

Life’s hard. I know.

I haven’t been to Winthrop in years, 12 of them to be exact. I’m hoping to find some quirky and/or divey restaurants to enjoy as well. But until then, I have another recipe to share with y’all.

Chicken Asparagus Quinoa Salad

Serves: 3

Nutritionals: Cal: 299, Carb: 27g, Fat: 12g, Pro: 20g, Fiber: 7g, Sugar: 5g

Ingredients

1/2 cup dry quinoa, rinsed

1 cup chicken broth (or water, if in a pinch)

1.5 cups asparagus, cut into 1 inch chunks

1/2 cup thawed edemame

1 green onion stalk, diced

1/2 bunch cilantro, stems removed

1/4 cup feta cheese

6 oz cooked chicken*, shredded (we grill extra on the weekend and shred it for week night meals, you could also use the crock pot method or boil method.)

*Sub with 1 can garbanzo beans to make this a vegetarian dish.

My favorite sauce/dressing (1 TBS EVOO, 1-2 garlic cloves, 1 TBS stone ground mustard, juice of 1/2 a lime and salt/pepper to taste)

Directions

Wash and pat dry your quinoa. Bring 1 cup chicken broth (or water) to a boil, add quinoa. Cook for 15 minutes, top pot with cover and remove from heat. Let pot sit for 5 minutes.

While quinoa is cooking mix your favorite sauce/dressing. After quinoa is cooked, add favorite sauce/dressing to quinoa and place in the fridge to cool.

Meanwhile, bring a second pot to boil and add your asparagus. Cook for 3 minutes, drain and rinse with cool water.

Once quinoa is cooled, add asparagus, cilantro, shredded chicken (or garbanzo beans), green onion, edemame, and feta cheese. Combine and enjoy!

What is your favorite way to prepare quinoa?

4 thoughts on “Chicken Asparagus Quinoa Salad

  1. Winthrop is like an hour from my home town, Omak! There are tons of really fun things to do and places to eat in the area. You will love checking out the town. Even though you aren’t eating candy, you will have to check out Sherry’s Sweet Shop. They have some great ice cream too!. We really like the Old School House Brewery. Yummy food and their beer is great too! If you are there on Saturday morning, there is a great Farmers Market in Twisp. They have a great goat cheese vendor…oh I love that stuff! Anyways, have fun! Can’t wait to see the pictures and I hope you have good weather!

Leave a Reply

