Yay, food survey

This has been floating around the foodie blog world for a few days, and seeing as how it is 9 p.m. on Monday and I’ve yet to figure out my meal plan for the week, you’re getting my answers too.

A is for Apple: What’s your favorite variety?
Honeycrisps are my absolute favorite. I wish they were in season longer. I’ll settle for pink ladies or cameos if the crisps aren’t available.
B is for Bread: Regardless of nutrition, what is your favorite type?
Sourdough, for sure. Back in high school I would buy round loaves of Safeway brand sourdough bread and a tub of butter for every tennis, basketball and cheer road trip. How I wasn’t 300 pounds amazes me.
C is for Cereal: What is your favorite kind currently? (just one!)
Currently? Hmmm, I pretty much just stick to oatmeal. But if we’re talking cold cereal then I am a pretty big fan of Nature’s Path granola (pumpkin flax).
D is for Donuts: You might not currently eat them, but what kind do you fancy?
I’m a maple bar girl, always have been. I rarely have them anymore.


E is for Eggs: How would you like yours prepared?
I have a love/hate relationship with eggs. Right now we get along, and I’m digging hard boiled egg wraps. I also like them fried (over medium – just a little drippy), or scrambled, breakfast burrito style.


F is for Fat Free: What is your favorite fat free product?
Fage or Chobani yogurt (although 2% is better). Back in the day I used to think fat free implied healthy. No, I’ve learned, it does not. It can, but it isn’t the end all be all.


G is for Groceries: Where do you purchase yours?
Currently, I purchase the majority of our haul at Costco or Safeway. I miss the Rosauer’s behind my old apartment (but not the apartment). I also cannot wait for Trader Joe’s to open! And now that spring has sprung, I’ve been able to hit up the farmer’s market for some of my veggies and meat.


H: is for Hot Beverages: What is your favorite hot drink?
Coffee, hands down. I’m slightly sad I am no longer a barista.

I is for Ice Cream: Pick a favorite flavor and add a fun topping
I prefer soft serve frozen yogurt, and am boring with vanilla as my top choice. I’m also a sucker for sprinkling crushed up butterfingers. Ahhh processed sugar. I love you.
K is for Kashi: Name your favorite Kashi product?
I used to love Kashi products, now I rarely buy them. They kind of taste like cardboard (yes, all of them).
L is for Lunch: What was yours today?
A very, very delicious reuben from The Elk. On the side I nibbled on some Tim’s potato chips and sipped on a Blackthorn cider.
M is for microwave: What is your favorite microwave meal/snack?
Oatmeal. Yes, I am one of those odd people who prefers her oats to be microwaved. Maybe it is from all those oatmeal bowls I made in college, where a microwave was my only source of heating a dish, but I just prefer the texture of  microwaved oats.
N is for nutrients: Do you likes carbs, fats, or proteins best?
*raises hand* Carboholic for sure. Bread is my favorite vice, followed quickly by granola.
O is for oil: What kind do you like to use?
Extra Virgin Olive Oil the majority of the time. Although I make my salad dressing with canola and dip my bread in truffle oil.
P is for protein: How do you get yours?
Chicken, ground turkey, black beans, garbanzo beans, peanut butter and cheese are regularly in my meals. Very rarely do I eat red meat or pork. The hubs has to prepare those meats if he wants them. And I almost never eat those leftovers.
Q is for Quaker: How do you like your oats?
I prefer them hot with chia seeds (I’m currently out – tear), cinnamon, vanilla almond milk and whatever mix-in strikes my fancy. Currently I am on a dried cherry kick. But I also like blueberries/vanilla/banana, pumpkin/vanilla/pecan, and craisin/pecan.

R is for roasting: What is your favorite thing to roast?
Vegetables including brussel sprouts, kale, broccoli, cauliflower, bell peppers, carrots and garlic.

S is for sandwich: What’s your favorite kind?
Mmmm, I love sandwiches. Just like Joey. I might even save a sandwich if it was put in a dangerous situation.

My favorite starts with sourdough bread (see above, B), topped with a laughing cow wedge, a generous amount of horseradish, sliced tomato, sweet onion (Walla Walla’s are the best), avocado and turkey. Mmmm, happy me.
T is for travel: How do you handle eating while traveling?
It depends where I am traveling. If I am en route to my parents house, (where I generally find myself traveling to),  my dad will stock their pantry and fridge with my favorites. If I am traveling to a place that is lucky enough to have a Trader Joe’s I will generally stop there and purchase eats for the week. I like to eat out as often as my wallet will allow, and will often scope out my dining options days (or weeks!) in advance.
U is for unique: What is one of your weirdest food combos?
Hmmm I love wasabi in my tuna salads, which I’ve never heard of anyone else doing.
V is for vitamins: What kind do you take
I take a B-12 (started taking when I went veg for Lent, and liked the way they made me feel, so I continued even though I am back on meat), magnesium (to help my muscles after running), and a prenatal (no, I am not trying for a baby spinach. It helps my hair and nails grow, plus it has lots of great things for women and general, so why not?).
W is for wasabi: Yay or nay?
YAY! I find it really funny that I LOOOOOVE wasabi (and horseradish), but I am not a fan of most hot sauces.
X is XRAY: If we xrayed your belly right now, what food would we see?
A wrap (filled with a hard boiled egg, laughing cow wedge, stone ground mustard, sweet onion, tomato and avocado) and a ridiculous amount of watermelon.

(source)
*This is kind of what my stomach looks like right now. Mmmmm, watermelon.

Y is for youth: What food reminds you of your childhood?
Gushers and fruit by the foot, Lucky Charms, Tuna noodle helper, spaghetti and meatballs, turkey on the grill (Thanksgiving), push pops, cooler ranch doritos (remember when they had both cool ranch and cooler ranch?), strawberry soda, and frozen mini pizzas. Yep, I was a really healthy kid.
Z is for zucchini: How do you prepare it?
Mmmm, my favorite way is to make green bruschetta (stay tuned for that recipe), but I also like it roasted or grilled.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

readers:

Pick 3 questions above and answer please. (I hope you pick the childhood foods question, hint hint).

4 thoughts on “Yay, food survey

Leave a Reply

