On running.

I’ve been having a love/hate relationship with all things exercise lately. My gym buddy started riding her bike to work, (go Erica!), and while this is great for her and the environment, it hasn’t helped me get my bootay to the gym before work. I did take note one day (during bike to work week, of course), and rode my (very pretty) bike to work and parked it in my office.

Why yes, that is an apple eraser magnet on my white board. Teacher nerd alert!

It was a fun and short (4 miles) ride, but my back got all sweaty due to my goodies, (purse, lunch, 2 water bottles & coffee), on my back.

But aside from that, and a few (very lackluster) elliptical dates, I have been a major slacker over the past week. Contrary to my weigh in Wednesday this week, (which was written on the previous week’s work outs).

The culprit? Cramps. Thank you mother nature. I think working with middle schoolers has propelled me back to the days of trying to get out of gym because of cramps. Hormones must be a catchable disease. I’ve got a pimple on my nose to back this theory up.

I know that getting my heart rate up and the blood flowing will help alleviate my cramps, and subsequent crampy attitude, but I’m much more content to whine about it, curl up with a bag of Kettle Buffalo Bleu chips and nosh onΒ  dark chocolate.

But I do have half-marathon training to complete. And I need to get my head (and legs!) in the game. So when I stumbled upon a running survey on Lori’s blog, I thought it might be fun to do and just enough motivation to get me through today’s scheduled 9 mile run. Nine miles. Oy.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What is your favorite type of cross training?
Elliptical. There is just something about zoning out with a copy of Women’s Health magazine, (or US Weekly….Hubs, time to renew!). Sometimes I do HIIT, but usually I just set the resistance to 9 and go for an hour.

What is your favorite song to run to?
My current favorite really surprised me: Cosmic Love by Florence + The Machine. I threw it on my Bloomsday play list, just to try it out, and wound up falling in love with it. I usually repeat it 3 or 4 times on a long run.

Other favorites include: Sweet Disposition by The Temper Trap, Don’t Stop Believin’ by Journey, Banquet by Bloc Party, Rolling in the Deep by Adele, Opposite of Adults (ftg. MGMT) by Chiddy Bang, Firework by Katy Perry, Supermassive Black Hole by Muse, SealionΒ  by Feist, The Owls Go by Architecture in Helsinki, and Inkwell (Crashed-Cop-Car Remix) by Blue Scholars.

What brand of shoes do you wear?
Asics (T964N), but they are very worn out. I need to get my bootay to The Runner’s Soul and have them watch me run/get new shoes.

Do you wear a hat when you run?
No. I have a small sweat-wicking headband, but I really want a bondi band. Specifically, this one:

(source)

It’s perfect for my Fueled by Fine Wine 1/2 Marathon, don’t you think?

What temperature is your favorite for running?
Between 45 and 60 degrees. Because of my athsma I have a difficult time regulating my body temperature, and overheat very easily. Or maybe my athsma is resultant of my inability to regulate body temperature. Whatever the case, I prefer to run in slightly cooler weather. But I need to get used to running in the heat, or my July 10th half is going to suck!

Do you have any big races coming up?
I’m running the Fueled by Fine Wine 1/2 marathon on July 10th. I am also toying with the idea of the 10K Dirty Dash on August 20 in Spokane and the Iron Girl 10K on September 11th in Seattle.

What is your favorite distance?
4-5 miles is a nice every day distance.

Are you a morning, noon or evening runner?
Morning, but not by choice. I can’t run at the end of the day because things always come up. Noon would be preferable, but there is that whole working woman thing that gets in the way.

Do you run solo or with a buddy?
I run solo, but my partner in crime, Reese, and I text each other after our long runs to ensure we stay on track for half marathon training.

What is your favorite pre-run fuel?
I added this one, since I couldn’t answer two for-seasoned-runners-only-appropriate questions.

Usually a peanut butter and banana sandwich on Dave’s Killer Bread. But today I decided to change it up (not much) and eat oats topped with cinnamon, raw sugar, half a banana and some chunky peanut butter.

I’m (kind of) experimenting with different pre-run foods so I know exactly what will fuel be best for my half this summer.

What’s your favorite post-run snack?
Green monster! My fav mix is 1-2 cups baby spinach, 3/4 cup frozen tropical fruit blend (strawberry, mango, pineapple), 1 cup vanilla almond milk & 1 scoop vanilla whey protein powder.


What’s your FAVORITE race?
I’ve only run one, Bloomsday (12K), and it was so much fun πŸ™‚

Do you wear a Garmin?Β  If not, how do you track your runs?Β 
No, but it is on my birthday Amazon wish list. Only 5 more weeks Hubs…

Last week I downloaded the Log Your Run app. It uses GPS to track my mileage. I got the free version, which has emergency contact info, the ability to customize a play list (which doesn’t work for me, since I dropped my iPhone in a fountain last summer and the iPod function doesn’t work), and has a couple other features. It doesn’t, however, break down my miles/speed for me. I think the pay version might do that. It is also kind of a pain to have to start/stop and put in my iFitness belt. A Garmin will be much more user friendly, but the free app works for now.

Who is your running idol?
I don’t have one. But I am quite impressed with my running buddy from afar, Reese. In 2010 her resolution was to run a race for every holiday, and she did!

How long have you been a runner?
I became a runner in 2011. I toyed with running before this year, but it never stuck until March 2011.

Do you run with your engagement/wedding ring on?
No – swollen fingers!

What’s your favorite workout? repeats? long runs? tempo? fartleks?
Long runs.Β  I cannot sprint, or even run quickly, to save my soul. Slow and steady is my mantra. Plus long runs gives me plenty of time to think, sort out my life, and create new recipes. Yes, I constantly think of food while running: what will I eat to refuel, what can I make for dinner without going to the grocery store, do I have enough ingredients at home to make a dessert?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What about you? What is your favorite exercise? Do you use running as therapy too?

9 thoughts on “On running.

  1. What a fun survey! I’ve NOT been doing a good job of getting my cardio in lately. I totally need to fix that. Argh! Your favorite post run fuel is my favorite pre-run fuel! Crazy! πŸ™‚

  2. HA! I pulled the cramp card to get out of my pilates class this week… and instead let my husband take me out to dinner and ply me with drinks. πŸ˜‰ Is that not ideal or what? πŸ˜‰
    My favorite exercise? Depends on the day. I am totally enjoying Les Mills’ Body Pump class lately though. And of course love my pilates. Yoga would probably be my favorite exercise. Running and biking are also solid. πŸ™‚

  3. Ah yes. Cramps. Such a pain in the ars! When I’ve got them I’d also be content vegging on the couch but running them out really feels fantastic by the end…But talking yourself into going for that run is difficult for sure!!

    I love that survey and just might have to do it on my blog!

    You will LOVE the garmin once you get it!

  4. Seriously fun survey! I had a hard time staying on track last week too since I was out of town and had only the hotel treadmill at my disposal. Hopefully we’ll have great weather this week and I can get my training back on track πŸ™‚

  5. Great survey!!
    Running can be therapy, or it can be torture. Swimming is my favorite exercise, I just hate the effort it takes getting in and out of the pool (changing, drying off, hair, etc…..not the physical pulling myself out ;))

  6. Pingback: Yoga feet | Spinach and Skittles

Leave a Reply

