Roasted Garlic Hummus

I have a rather fun and eclectic group of friends. We used to have country themed potluck parties once a month. The first was an Ethiopian themed feast. We moved through the world, enjoying dishes from Ireland, India and Spain (just to name a few). But over time things changed. People moved away. People had kids. And life generally got in the way.

But this weekend, we loaded up the bikes, and pedaled three miles south as our good friends Crissy and Kevin revived our potluck tradition with a trip to Greece in their backyard.

It was quite the feast.

Obviously I needed to try a little of everything.

Mmmmm, lamb ribs…I don’t even like ribs, but these were amazing!

At first I couldn’t decide what to make. Visions of tzatziki and baklava danced through my head, but in the end hummus won out, (as it usually does). I did, after all, receive a little nudge from Crissy as she politely asked if I might be bringing my famous hummus.

And so I bestow to you, dear bloggettes, my Roasted Garlic Hummus recipe.

Ingredients

1 can garbanzo beans (Keep half of the liquid. The garbanzo “juice” helps with the consistency)

1 head roasted garlic

2 TBS extra virgin olive oil

1 TBS tahini

1.5 TBS lemon juice

1.5 tsp. sea salt

1 tsp Tapatio (or hot sauce of your choosing)

Directions

Throw all ingredients in your food processor (or blender), whirl away.

I like my hummus to be extra creamy, so I walk away for 2-3 minutes and let the food processor do its thang.

I wish I had a pretty picture to show you, but I boxed this up, brought it to the party, and not a bite was left at the end of the night, (and I made a double batch!).

So you get dippable veggies…

and tupperweared hummus instead 🙂


6 thoughts on “Roasted Garlic Hummus

  1. Yum! That looks like so much fun! After we finish our backyard overhaul I want to have parties like this too 🙂
    I made hummus for the first time last week. I have seen it all over blog land for years, but never have tried to make it before. OMG…it is so easy! I think I will have to try it with roasted garlic now :0)

Leave a Reply

