Oh, hey, here I am.

I’ve been a bad blogger. Neglecting you blogettes, neglecting the ever growing collection of photographs on my card, and neglecting my blog-improvement to-do list. But guess what?  I don’t care. One of the reasons I started this little blog was to stop letting my life live me, and lately I’ve really been living my life. Last week’s disappointing news threw me for a curveball, but I’m back on top of things and very excited that it is flip flop weather!

Ahhhh, glorious, glorious sun.

And what does this wonderful weather and extended daylight hours bring? Some fabulous flower blossoms and fruits and veggies sprouting their leaves toward the sky.

Heirloom tomatoes

(The Hubs transplanted the tomatoes from our indoor garden today…)

 

sweet onions


forsythia

Peonies!

 

tulips



no idea, but it sure is pretty


daffodils



Knowing I would want to enjoy as much time in the sun as soon as it finally decided to pop its head out for a while, I prepped my freezer to create effortless dinners.

Tonight was the first freezer meal we’ve enjoyed from my new challenge to bulk cook. I first learned about bulk cooking on my friend Alanna’s blog. She was doing a little bulk cooking before she had her baby, and used lots of recipes from Once a Month Mom (OAMM). Since my interest peeked last spring, I’ve read a few cookbooks, including Don’t Panic, Dinner’s in the Freezer, revolving around the bulk cooking method/process. My friend Kelly, whole foods contributor to OAMM, has also been a wealth of information. Read her guest post here.

Tonight’s freezer meal was one of my favorites: black bean burlattas. I baked a double batch of these back in March, and froze the second one. I assembled the second batch in a foil lined pyrex dish (two actually – a 9×13 and an 8×8), flash froze them (uncovered, in the same dish I would bake them in, in the freezer, for 30-60 minutes), and then wrapped them completely in aluminum foil. Then I added a slip with the day-of cooking directions and syran wrapped them.

Last night I pulled these babies out of the freezer and placed them in the fridge to thaw. This evening I was pleased to discover that the burlattas thawed nicely, with no ice build up (thanks to the flash freezing method).

30 minutes after I pulled them out of the fridge we were enjoying a fabulous home-cooked meal with almost no-effort.

I am definitely going to continue on the bulk-cooking road. Even though this is only our first evening to benefit from bulk cooking, I know it will make our lives so much easier and our evenings much more enjoyable.

p.s. Ethel says hello.

Do you have any experience with bulk cooking? If so, what is your favorite freezer-meal recipe?

6 thoughts on “Oh, hey, here I am.

  1. I have no experience with bulk cooking or freezer meal-ing. Usually things just end up in the freezer because I can’t finish them (or, as with banana bread, am having baked good overload).

    I am jealous of your garden! 🙂

Leave a Reply

